Canvas Prints In All Sizes

Starting at $20.59 per sq. ft.

(36 customer reviews)

Our thick, textured canvas prints are a great choice for images of any size or content. Professionally printed, packaged, and shipped. Looking for Common Size Pricing? CLICK HERE!

  • Latex-based ink resists fading
  • Entirely custom sizes, up to 10′
  • Mirrored, White, or Black Border
  • Hand-stretched across a wooden frame or rolled
  • Canvas can last 100+ years with proper care


Bring your masterpeice to life
in 3 easy steps

  1. Choose Print Type
  2. Upload your Image
  3. Choose Frame Option
Print Type
SKU: custom-canvas-prints Category:

Classic. Timeless. Traditional.

Bring your photos to life with ArtisanHD’s premium archival-rated custom canvas prints. This classic material offers a unique texture and lightweight hanging, in any size for both high-definition photography and fine art. ArtisanHD only uses the latest in latex ink technology, so there’s no need for an additional varnish.

“The quality of the canvas print I purchased was superb. The customer service to make sure I received my product on time was outstanding. Customer service like this is akin to 30 years ago and is refreshing in this day and age. I look forward to ordering again and again from ArtisanHD.”

Pamela P, ArtisanHD Customer

Customization Options For Canvas Prints

You have a lot of options in bringing your artwork to life on canvas print. Depending on the application and your personal taste, you can configure a canvas print (or one big print broken into different panels). Below are the options for creating your amazing canvas art.

Choose Your Canvas Size

Pick any canvas size between 10″x10″ and we’ll cut and print to your specifications. Popular sizes include:

  • 12″ x 18″
  • 18″ x 24″
  • 24″ x 36″
  • 30″ x 40″

 Choose Your Frame Depth

Canas prints come wrapped around a wooden frame and both the size and the depth of the frame can be configured. You can choose between three different canvas depths:

  • 9/16?
  • 1 1/2? (standard)
  • 2?

Don’t want the frame? We offer canvas that is professionally printed and carefully rolled in a tube for convenient and secure shipping (see image / specs below).

Please Note – Embedded signatures should always be at minimum 1 inch from the corners of the image.

Thin 9/16? Frame

canvas prints

Standard 1 1/2? Frame

canvas prints

Deep 2? Frame

canvas prints

Finishing Options for Canvas Prints

Choose Your Gallery Wrap

Along with the depth, you choose what to do with the canvas on that dimension. There are three different types of gallery finishes:

  • Black gallery wrap
  • White gallery wrap
  • Mirrored gallery wrap

Choose Your Canvas Finish

Depending on the application (usually the amount of direct/indirect light where the canvas will be hung), you may opt for different finishes on the canvas:

  • Matte finish – typically chosen for fine art
  • Semi-gloss – most popular for portraits
  • Glossy – best for landscape commercial prints

Black Gallery Wrap

High Quality Digital Photo to Canvas Prints Black Wrap

Side surfaces are black, and the canvas is stretched on a high-quality wood frame.

White Gallery Wrap

High Quality Digital Photo to Canvas Prints White Wrap

Side surfaces are white, and the canvas is stretched on a high-quality wood frame.

Mirrored Gallery Wrap

Custom High quality Digital Photo to Canvas prints gallery wrap

The outer edge of the image is mirrored, and the canvas is stretched on a high-quality wood frame.

Rolled Canvas

Rolled High Quality Digital Photo to Canvas Prints

This option includes a 3″ white border outside of image size ordered. If you require a larger border for future stretching, please build your file with more border.

Not sure what your Canvas print will look like? Try a sample print today!

Order Print Samples!
Order Print Samples!

Have questions about our canvas prints?

Check out our helpful FAQs in the tab above, call us directly at 1 (877) 948-0009, or email us at Support@ArtisanHD.com.

FAQs

What Makes A Quality Canvas Print? Where Cheap Canvas Cuts Corners2023-06-16T11:35:29-07:00

Canvas girl unique custom photo gifts from a Professional Printing Company

Cheap canvas printing services cut corners to keep prices down and while they provide you with what you “ordered”, they will still disappoint you. So what makes a quality canvas photo printer? What are the hallmarks of quality that you should look for when shopping for a canvas photo print?

With the advent of large format printers, printing digital photos on canvas has become very popular and affordable. However, the quality of the canvas prints varies enormously.

You may have to do a little research before you find the company you want to upload your photo to, but here are a few tips to help you separate online professional printing companies from cheap, discount printer factories.

Corners Cut By Cheap Canvas Printers

One of the easiest ways to make more money as a business is to cut corners to reduce your cost of goods sold. For canvas printers, this is quite easy to do as there are less expensive options throughout the production process. Cheap printers will often skimp on things like:

  • Poor quality subframe – Using low-quality wood or cheap construction, the subframe to your canvas can look great when it’s delivered but soon become weak and lose its shape.
  • Cheaper canvas – The thread count of your canvas will determine how tightly it can be woven together and the overall quality of the canvas, cheap canvas will let pinholes of light through even after the printing.
  • Old inkjet printers – Technology has advanced considerably over the past five years, older inkjet printers can’t offer the same fidelity as newer versions using the same technology.

If you’re looking to save money on a canvas print, you’ll likely see one or all three of these things when you order your print. Every print looks good online, leaving many purchasers disappointed when their discount canvas arrives looking just so-so.

What Makes A Quality Canvas Photo Printer?

Not all canvas printers are trying to cut corners, ArtisanHD spends the time and money to produce the highest quality canvas prints:

  • Custom-crafted subframes – We spec and build each subframe so we know the wood and craftsmanship will last for decades.
  • High-end canvas – Canvas with a high thread count will last long, is stronger, can be stretched tighter, and won’t suffer from pin-holing like cheap canvas.
  • New inkjet printers – Though expensive, new commercial inkjet printers are some of the most advanced printing technology available and provide the highest levels of clarity and vibrance of color.

To print digital photos on canvas while delivering high-quality results, the printing company should have the best and most technologically advanced inkjet printers available.

Also, the materials matter greatly. When a true professional is printing digital photos on canvas, a high-quality canvas is essential. If you decide to upload your photos to a company with cheap prices, you will probably get a poor canvas reprint. The total effect will be much less pleasing than with the superior poly-cotton canvases we use.

To print digital photos on canvas you want sharp, crystal-clear reprints. This requires the use of the finest inks in the market. The ink used should be the ink specifically manufactured for the specific printer used. Other ink brands may be available for a particular printer, but only the manufacturer’s ink can be trusted to produce high-quality canvas reproductions.

When comparing prices, don’t go the cheap way unless you want substandard results. Besides, printing digital photos on canvas with an established, professional printing company is absolutely affordable. When you upload your photographs online with professionals, you can be sure you will get a gorgeous result.

Customer Service You Can Count On

If you have questions, make sure the company has a way for you to contact them. And research what types of personalized customer service they provide. Do they have a customer guarantee for full satisfaction? Digital photos printed on canvas should be finished with a UV-protective coating that will protect the canvas from fading and scratching. Does the company make this a part of their workflow?

Make sure that when they print digital photos to canvas, they allow for previews of the reprints before purchase.

When printing digital photos on canvas, the printing company should offer you a completely finished product, including finish and mounting options.

The printing process used is very important for optimal resolution. If their printing process is giclée or high-definition, you’re in good hands.

You’ll be happy to know that ArtisanHD meets all of these standards!

Is It Worth It To Stretch Canvas Myself Or Order With The Subframe?2023-06-13T12:56:41-07:00

Antelope Canyon Canvas - unique custom photo gifts - custom stretched canvas prints

The vast majority of our customers prefer to let us do the canvas stretching for them. We source the wood, make sure the frames are built up to spec, and have trained experts on staff to accomplish this.

For our customers who have the know-how and tools to stretch canvas themselves, we also provide unstretched canvas without a subframe. Should you consider stretching the canvas yourself? Is it worth the time and effort to stretch canvas or are you better off getting it ready to go?

We’ll cover the advantages of stretching your own canvas and whether or not you should consider doing it yourself.

Advantages Of Stretching Canvas Yourself

There’s really just one big advantage to stretching your own canvas that you can apply in many different ways: more choice over the final product. Most places that provide pre-stretched canvas have a productized offering for you to choose from without many customization options. When you stretch the canvas yourself you can control:

  • Choice of subframe material – Choose the type of wood or metal you want to build your subframe out of
  • Choice of the type of canvas – If you’re in control of the print you can determine the texture, weight, weave, primer, and final quality of the canvas
  • Choice of custom sizes – You can build your frame to any non-standard size you wish

Why You Should Or Shouldn’t Stretch Your Own Canvas

Our staff suggests anyone who likes working with their hands and wants to try should attempt to stretch their own canvas. However, they also caution that you may want to consider a few things before starting as it may not be for everyone:

  • Space to stretch – Stretching canvas in a small room or on a standard-sized table is a lot like playing pool in a small room, possible but not ideal.
  • Tools – While not very expensive buying new tools like an upgraded staple gun, canvas pliers, clamps, etc., may be necessary.
  • Time – Both learning to stretch canvas and actually stretching canvas can take some time.
  • Ability – If you’re not very handy, building your own subframe or stretching your own canvas can be even more difficult to learn.

How Much Does It Cost To Get Canvas Stretched?

Depending on where you live and the experience of the person, it can cost $8-$20 per linear foot. So you would be saving money by stretching it yourself – provided you don’t spend money on new tools and it only takes you an hour or so to do.

Custom Stretched Canvas Prints

Unless you choose and tell us otherwise, we professionally stretch your photos on canvas over a 1.5? wooden frame. You can choose to have a plain stretched canvas so that you can frame it yourself, or you can choose a gallery-wrapped canvas, a process that requires no frame. With this type of mounting, we wrap the photograph around the edges of all four sides of the frame, giving it a totally finished and gallery-like look.

We guarantee that our custom stretched canvas prints will go beyond your expectations. Added to that, our personalized service will never let you down!

4 Reasons Photographers Prefer Canvas To Photo Paper2023-05-24T11:36:57-07:00

As canvas printing technology has progressed, printing on canvas is becoming more and more popular for amateur and professional photographers. Digital printing on canvas is gaining popularity over photographic paper for a number of reasons. When evaluating art prints vs canvas, photographers are increasingly choosing canvas. These are the four biggest reasons why photos on canvas are better than photo paper.

Canvas vs. Paper Prints In Durability

Digital printing on canvas creates artwork that is very durable and lasts longer than photographic paper. If you choose a quality canvas printer, like Artisan HD, they use high-quality, scratch-resistant inks that not only add to the beauty of your photograph but also help increase the lifetime of your personalized prints.

While the longevity of any print will depend on how it’s stored or displayed, canvas prints can last up to 100+ years whereas photo paper typically last 20 – 60 years. If you want a photo print that’s durable and can last, canvas has the edge over traditional photo prints.

Framing Is Optional For Canvas

Unlike photo paper, canvas prints can come ready to hang on the wall with no additional framing. The subframe that the canvas is stretched around can be hung directly on your wall without placing it in a frame. That said, if you do want to frame your canvas print you can also find frames designed to accommodate the 1.5″ thick subframe.

Without a traditional frame, canvas prints are also much lighter in weight. For extra large canvas prints, this is an even bigger advantage because an oversized print can be moved by one person, not a few people trying not to bump the heavy glass frame into the corner of the wall.

Unique Texture & Anti-Glare Qualities Of Canvas

The use of canvas for fine art dates back to the Renaissance Era starting in the 14th century, and became widely popular in the 16th century as the preferred medium for both artists and patrons. Today we naturally associate the qualities of a canvas painting with fine art. Compared to other mediums canvas has some unique qualities:

  • No glare – With the right paints or treated inks, glare can be reduced to virtually zero, perfect for any gallery or home.
  • Texture – Ranging from smooth, medium, and coarse, the texture of canvas adds depth to any work of art.
  • Weight & weave – How closely the fibers are woven together will affect how the canvas appears.

Unlimited Options with Digital Printing on Canvas

Large format digital printing on canvasModern Giclee inkjet printers at high-end print shops have become so advanced that they can print at a large scale while maintaining superior quality. Large format canvas printers provide you with a huge variety of different sizes from which to choose. You can have your photos enlarged or reduced to practically any size you desire.

When you print digital photos on canvas, your reprints obtain a quality that is hard to surpass. Because of the natural texture of canvas, printing photos on canvas gives depth, breadth, and artistry to your work.

With our giclée printing process, your photos will look like fine art prints and not cheap reproductions. Once you see the results, you will feel you have purchased your own personal art collection to put in your home or office.

Even when enlarged to fit a very large wall area, there is no reduction in quality. Unlike other companies that use cheap quality canvas, inferior printers, and uncured inks. Whether you choose a matte or glossy finish, our printing process brings out the best colors imaginable with high-definition canvas prints.

What customization options are there for canvas prints?2023-07-13T05:26:30-07:00

When you’re getting a canvas print you’ll have three options for customization:

  • Edge finish – The canvas that wraps around the subframe can be modified to fit your desired look.
  • Stretched or unstretched – Print can be delivered on a subframe, ready to hang on the wall immediately.
  • Size – Sizes range from 12″x12″ to 115″x115″ (12″x12″ to 68″x68″ for Canvas Glossy)

ArtisanHD offers high-quality canvas prints that can be printed to order and shipped directly to your door.

Finishing Options For Canvas

The canvas wraps around the 1.5″ subframe and will be visible unless the canvas is placed behind a frame. You can choose a finishing option for that edge for the perfect look. There are three finishing types from which to choose:

  • Mirrored Gallery Wrap – The most common option, mirrors the image around the edge.
  • Black Gallery Wrap – Best for darker images, the black on the border helps make the brighter colors pop.
  • White Gallery Wrap – Best for brighter images, the white edge blends easier on white walls.

Glossy To Matte Canvas Options

ArtisanHD allows you to choose between three different glare or glare reduction options with matte, semi-gloss, and glossy finishes.

  • Matte finish – typically chosen for fine art
  • Semi-gloss – most popular for portraits
  • Glossy – best for landscape commercial prints

Rolled High Quality Digital Photo to Canvas PrintsStretched or Unstretched Canvas

While most customers prefer to have their canvas print delivered on a subframe, ready to hang, some prefer to stretch it themselves. We cover whether you should consider stretching canvas yourself, but would encourage anyone who is handy and wants to try to do so. However, we’d also encourage you to practice with a canvas that hasn’t had cutting-edge ink-jet Giclee print on it first.

Canvas Print Sizes

ArtisanHD offers sizes as small as 12″x12″ and extra large canvas prints as large as 115″x115″ (12″x12″ to 68″x68″ for Canvas Glossy). We only offer squares or rectangles but will provide you with an unstretched canvas if you want unique shapes.

Our high-quality canvas prints can last 100+ years, if placed out of direct sunlight and kept within normal temperature ranges.

To read more about Artisan’s high-definition canvas prints, visit the Custom Canvas Prints Product Page.

Our thick cotton canvas offers stunning color and unbelievably high-resolution detail. Prints have a classic, gallery-wrapped canvas look. Latex-based ink resists fading, and canvases can be up to 10″ in size. Each canvas is hand-stretched across a 1.5″ deep wooden frame (the industry standard is 0.75″).

How do I clean canvas prints?2023-05-18T11:14:42-07:00

For high-quality canvas prints that use a sealant for the ink and a UV-protective coating, like those offered by ArtisanHD, there’s nothing special you need to do to care for your canvas image. Cheap canvas print reproductions will require greater care and maintenance in order to preserve the print.

Good canvas prints only require a little bit of dusting, however, there are three guidelines for general canvas care you should know to retain the print’s original vividness long-term:

  • Avoid long-term exposure to sunlight
  • Avoid hot and humid areas
  • Dust regularly with no chemicals

Canvas Care Tip #1: Avoid long-term exposure to sunlight

The protective UV coating on Giclee canvas prints protects canvas images like never before against solar radiation. Compared to old or cheaper canvas prints, a good UV coating will help your canvas last much longer. That said, it’s generally not recommended to hang canvas prints outside or on a wall that gets consistent and sustained exposure to direct sunlight. It’s best to display canvas in a room with ambient indoor lighting.

Canvas Care Tip #2: Avoid Hot and Humid Environments

Because canvas is a natural fiber, it can be affected by the environment around it. So walls in rooms that are hot for extended periods of time or outside and subject to outdoor heat are not ideal for canvas. The same goes for humid or wet environments, given enough time, moisture will decrease the vibrancy of the canvas print. Canvas does better in dry and cool environments and should be hung.

Canvas Care Tip #3: Dust Regularly With No Chemicals

Dust and dirt build up on everything, even paintings. Use a feather duster or a soft cloth that’s slightly moistened to clean your canvas regularly. Only use a fine linen cloth that is not too wet to avoid scratching or damaging the canvas. You should never use household cleaners or chemicals to clean your canvas, this can break down any protective coating or even ruin the image.

What are the most popular uses of digital photo to canvas prints?2023-11-17T11:03:33-07:00

Digital photo-to-canvas prints have a wide variety of uses and offer a great way to decorate or preserve memories. Here are the most popular uses that we see for canvas:

  • Custom Wall Art – Canvas is a classic medium for art for a reason, it’s durable, adds texture, and is perfect for both photos and photo-quality artwork. By far the most popular use of canvas for our customers is to create one-of-a-kind wall art for their home. A high-quality canvas print can be the perfect focal point on a wall. Canvas can also be ideal for gallery walls with multiple prints clustered close together creating its own aesthetic.
  • Family Portraits – Canvas creates a warm personalized look for family photos that many people prefer over traditional framed photo paper. With several sizes available, they are great as personalized gifts that can fit in any room of the house. Special events like weddings, vacation memories, and family reunions are also popular applications.
  • Bedroom Art – Whether it’s for a baby’s room, kids’ room, guest room, or master bedroom, canvas photo prints related to the design theme of the room are an excellent piece of accent decor that helps to visually tie a bedroom together.
  • Office decor – Transform blank wall space in an office or corporate setting into a custom photo print that makes the office more welcoming and visually appealing with canvas prints. Landscapes, nature photography, abstract art, inspirational quotes, or branded graphics are all popular choices for the work environment. Canvas is a classy yet subtle choice for office decor that many people choose over other alternatives.
  • Seasonal decorations – With canvas photo prints being so affordable, using them for different seasons throughout the year has become more and more popular. Whether it’s celebrating the holiday season, the arrival of spring or just keeping the decor fresh, several canvas photo prints can be used throughout the year to spruce up stale-looking wall space in any setting.
  • Art reproductions & murals – Canvas is a classic art medium for two reasons: it looks great and is a fit for any art style. For both art exhibitions and large-format murals, canvas is often the medium of choice for artists and art lovers alike.

Digital photo to canvas prints have a wide variety of uses, and offer a great way to decorate or preserve memories.

  • Add some personalized interior design to your home or office
  • take those old photos out of your photo album and put them on the wall
  • Reproduce artwork onto canvas

Canvas prints also make great customized gifts for someone special, or for a special occasion.

Digital Photo to Canvas Printing Options

The classic, textured material offers a unique look and lightweight hanging, and can be printed in nearly any size.

Choose from 4 finishing types, including gallery wrap, black or white wrap, or a rolled canvas to stretch over your own frame.

To read more about out our options for printing your canvas image, check out more digital photo to Canvas Prints.

How long will my canvas prints last? It Depends2023-11-03T11:28:24-07:00

No photographic reproduction can last forever, however, ArtisanHD’s canvas prints can last 100+ years under the right conditions. But what makes canvas so durable? What is it about the ink and printing process that stands the test of time? Let’s dig into the factors that make canvas fine art so long-lasting.

Quality Of Canvas Impacts Longevity

There’s a huge difference between cheap canvas and canvas that can last for decades. Many cheaper canvas photo reproductions use inferior canvas that looks great when it’s first printed but ends up looking shabby over time. So what makes a quality canvas for photos and paintings? Thread count or the tightness of the weave is the biggest factor in canvas quality. Similar to your bedsheets or high-end paper, there are advantages to having a higher thread count

  • No pin holes – Canvas with a low thread count can see “pin-holing” where bits of light can shine through the tiny hole between the fabric.
  • Tighter wrapping – Because quality canvas is stronger it can be more tightly stretched around the subframe, reducing distortions.
  • Thicker fabric – Good canvas is thicker than cheaper canvas, giving it a more professional look and feel in the final product.

Giclee Archival Pigment-Based Inks Last Longest

The highest quality canvas printing method is Giclee which uses a professional-grade ink jet printer with special inks. This printing method and these inks are specially designed for their vibrant look and durability. These advantages include:

  • Greater scratch resistance
  • More resistant to fading than dye-based inks
  • Most popular for museum-quality prints
  • Can have a protective coating added with no loss of luster

For ink to be considered “archival,” it must be designed to withstand weathering and fading and can be used to create the highest quality prints fit for museums and fine art galleries.

Photographic Reproduction that Lasts

Linda Ingraham Lemons ArtisanHD Canvas Image Print Photographic Reproduction

When we print your digital photos on canvas, we use the highest quality canvas available. We produce your prints on large-format Giclee digital printers. This, combined with fine art printing processes, produces canvas photographic reproductions that are second to none.

The reproductions you receive will last for more than a hundred years if kept out of direct sunlight under normal indoor conditions. This means you need to pay attention to where you hang your image if you want the vibrant colors to remain as they are for years to come.

For more information, check out our Custom Canvas page.

How do I select the finish on my custom photo canvas prints?2023-06-23T11:21:57-07:00

Finishing styles for custom photo canvas prints

ArtisanHD allows you to upload your image, proof your print, and order a canvas print online with our Configurator. Alternatively, you can reach out to us directly for consultation on how to get the optimal print.

Our Configurator has an easy-to-use preview and order flow:

1. Choose between a single print or a cluster of prints

Do you want one big print or do you want your photo broken into smaller prints? Most canvas prints we sell are in one piece, however, depending on the resolution and style you’re looking for, a cluster of the same photo can be a great choice as well.

2. Upload your photo

We prefer an uncompressed .tif, flattened (no layers) minimum resolution 150DPI at full print size, 300DPI if possible. 8bit, with Adobe RGB98 as the color profile. (NO gray scales) However, .jpg and sRGB are also acceptable.

Additional file types that are accepted include: .jpeg, .tif, .tiff, .psd, and .psb. A 1/8” bleed is required on all images and any Signatures / Logos should be at minimum 1/2” away from any edges.

3. Preview your print & select canvas size

You’ll see a couch with your canvas print hung over it. You can also swap out the couch (72″x32″) displayed with other furniture such as:

  • Chair (24″x18″)
  • Nightstand (18″x22″)
  • Queen-sized bed (68″x43″)
  • Bar table (76″x48″)

This gives you an idea of the size and scale of the canvas for the room you want to hang your print in. If you’ve uploaded a low-resolution photo you’ll see warnings for that during this process. See the above requirements and preferred photo resolutions for the highest-quality prints.

4. Select glossy, semi-gloss, or matte

Most of the canvas prints we sell are semi-gloss, as they combine the best of both glossy and matte canvas finishes, but depending on where you’ll be displaying the print (in lower or higher than average light) you may consider a glossy or matte finish.

5. Choose subframe thickness

Select one of three options, 9/16″, 1 1/2″, or 2″ thick subframe. Each subframe is custom-made using quality wood and materials, so no matter your choice you’ll get a sturdy subframe that will last for decades.

6. Choose finishing options (all free)

  • Mirrored Gallery Wrap – The most common option.
  • Black Gallery Wrap – Best for darker images
  • White Gallery Wrap – Best for brighter images

7. Add hanging accessories (optional)

If you’re going to hang your canvas directly on the wall, you can choose to add a wire or sawtooth hangar to come preinstalled on the back of the subframe.

8. 3-D preview

Take one last look at a 3-D render of your canvas and if it looks good – get it delivered in days!

What are the most popular canvas print customizations?2023-06-30T11:29:23-07:00

Custom Hotel Gallery Art Horse Fine Art Custom Canvas Prints Kathy Taylor FOUNDRE Phoenix Hotel

With decades of canvas printing experience, ArtisanHD has seen all sorts of different custom requests so we often get asked: What are the most popular canvas print customizations requested?

5 Types of Canvas Customization Options

As you’re ordering your canvas print, you’ll have five basic options for customization:

  • Edge finish
  • Glossiness
  • Stretched or unstretched
  • Subframe thickness
  • Size

Our in-house canvas professionals will print and stretch the picture you upload so that you can create a custom print to your exact specifications. By using our high-definition processing, we can turn your photo into a custom work of art.

Edge Finish – Mirrored Gallery-Wrap

Of the three options, mirrored gallery-wrap, black gallery-wrap, and white gallery-wrap, mirrored gallery-wrap is by far the most popular. This is because most canvas prints we sell are hung directly onto the wall, with no outer frame and the look of the mirrored gallery-wrap generally looks better than plain white or black. The edge of the image reflected and wrapped around the subframe gives the canvas almost a 3-D look.

Glossiness – Semi-gloss

Most people prefer their canvas to have a little bit of gloss but not too much so they land on semi-gloss. While they each have their virtue, semi-gloss canvases are more versatile than gloss or matte in that they can be hung in a greater variety of lighting and still look great.

Stretched Or Unstretched – Stretched With Subframe

Because stretching the canvas yourself requires space, tools, and know-how, the vast majority of people order their canvas prints already stretched over the subframe ready to hang. We’d encourage anyone who can stretch their own canvas to do so, but we also recommend you learn on a blank canvas, not a Giclée printed canvas print.

Subframe Thickness – 1 1/2″

With three options, 9/16″, 1 1/2″, and 2″, most of our customers choose 1 1/2″ because it works with all canvas sizes. Smaller canvases typically opt for the thinner subframe of 9/16″ while extra-large canvases choose the 2″. All subframe thicknesses work with all sizes, it’s typically more of a question of preference and proportion.

Canvas Size – Around 36′ – 48′

The average wall height is 8′ the average piece of furniture is between 3′ and 4′, so once you know the width of the space you’re trying to take up, you can calculate a ratio to your liking as to the best print size. Most of our customers are trying to cover a space that’s around 4’x6′ and opt for a canvas print that measures between 36′ – 48′ on each side.

Custom Canvas Prints: 3-step process

ArtisanHD only uses the highest quality artist-grade canvas and inkjet printers to reproduce beautiful custom canvas prints of your photo that are easy to order. The process for creating your own canvas print that is uniquely your own is as easy as 1, 2, 3!

  1. Upload your Photo from your phone, tablet, or computer
  2. Customize your image by cropping and choosing size and canvas wrap options
  3. Place your order and leave the rest to us!

With our large format printers, we can take your digital photograph and turn it into a gorgeous, high-definition art canvas. And using our Giclée method, we can deliver museum-quality reprints — as big or as small as you wish to cover the wall space you want to fill.

Remember, Canvas prints are a beautiful alternative or addition to any room in your home, big or small. Or even in your office! Canvas is actually much more durable than paper. The material also gives an incomparable depth and quality to a photograph.

What’s the best resolution for canvas prints?2023-11-06T13:46:59-07:00

Step 1 for custom printing online - a museum back print - professional photo printing online

The more dots per square inch (DPI) and the bigger the file size, the better resolution you’ll get in the final product. That said, almost every digital photo can be made into a canvas print, however, with DPI and file size, some images will be better suited to enlarge than others.

For the most part, with the digital art technology (printing process, inks, and image software) we have, we can enlarge a photo to print on canvas to fit over a large area without any loss of resolution.

How can I tell if a photo’s resolution is sharp enough to print?

When you upload your image file to our online HD configurator, our software will determine the resolution quality. It will tell you if the resolution is too low for bigger sizes of digital canvas printing. If we find that the photo you upload will not produce the finest results, we will contact you and determine the best solution.

To help you gauge the right size, you can even see your custom artwork compared to common household furniture items, like a couch.

Unlike the practices of some discount printing houses, if the resolution of your photo is too poor for the size that you select to print, we will contact you before we start working on your digital canvas printing order. The integrity of your image and product is important to our customer service team – that’s what we’re here for!

Pixel & Size Minimum Guidelines For Canvas

Both pixel resolution (DPI) and the size of the image file will determine how large you can enlarge a photo onto a canvas print. Images that don’t meet these minimums would become blurry and pixelated as they get larger.

We prefer an uncompressed .TIF, flattened (no layers) minimum resolution 150DPI at full print size, 300DPI if possible. 8bit, with Adobe RGB98 as the color profile. (NO Gray-scales) – However, .JPG and sRGB are also acceptable.

Additional File types are: .jpg .jpeg .tif .tiff .psd .psb. 1/8” bleed is required on all images.

Best Resolutions For Extra-large Prints

The bigger the image, the more pixels and data behind it the better for image resolution. Extra-large canvas prints are popular choices because they don’t require framing (expensive for larger prints) and are lightweight. If you want a print large enough to span an entire wall, be sure you have the photo that allows for that scale of print.

For the best output, we recommend – an uncompressed .TIF, flattened (no layers) with a resolution of 300DPI at full print size. 8bit, with Adobe RGB98 as the color profile.

Why choose quality canvas prints?

Both the software and printing technology used will determine if the resolution of your photo is crisp on the canvas. Some digital printing companies that offer cheap canvas reprints or prices at a discount do not have the digital art technology or the capacity to create reproductions with high-definition from image files.

ArtisanHD uses the Giclée printing process, the most advanced inks with the widest color gamut to produce the deepest blacks and brightest whites that can be enlarged to almost any size.

Can scanned images be made into canvas prints?

Yes, scanned photos can be used for canvas prints. Also, if you have the photo negative you can have that turned into a digital file ready for printing.

What is giclée?2022-04-11T13:06:43-07:00

Giclée, from the French meaning to spray and pronounced “gee-clay,” is a printing process from which digital prints are reproduced using ink-jet printing. This sounds underwhelming until you realize advanced high-tech ink-jet technology makes for sharper details and the ink will last longer than traditional prints.

In fact, the ink-jet printers used at high-end, custom printing shops like ArtisanHD, use the latest ink-jet technology that provides smooth and precise images with no dots, blurs, or lines all while having the true hues of the original print.

Why choose giclée prints of fine art or photos for canvas prints?

Artistic details on fine art giclée prints

  • Fine detail – Advances in ink-jet technology reproduce images at a fidelity that traditional printing can’t replicate
  • Precise color-matching – With a blend of 8 – 12 colors and professional imaging software, colors can be tuned to match the original
  • Durable inks – The type of ink ink-jets use last long.

Giclée canvas printing allows photographers to reproduce their photographs onto a completely new medium, other than traditional photo paper. With giclée reprints, we can reproduce digital images to just about any size you want. The results are astounding. Fine art giclée prints on canvas are also very durable, and under the right conditions, last a long time.

In the case of professional artists, the original work can be multiplied in a limited run for sale purposes. This is very cost-effective for artists with limited budgets. The large format printers used to produce giclée prints work extremely fast and are capable of replicating thousands of prints in a short period of time.

Difference Between Cheap And Professional Giclée Prints

  • Canvas vs. canvas paper – There’s a huge difference and cheaper giclée will be lower quality
  • Ink-jet technology – Giclée is cheaper when you use outdated ink-jet printers with fewer colors and detail
  • Size limitations – Large giclée prints on quality canvas require the highest-end machines to accomplish

Be careful from whom you order your giclée on canvas reprints. They promise you a cheap giclée print and then mail you a print made on canvas paper. The canvas paper is made to replicate a canvas look but it is not made from the high-quality poly-cotton canvas we use. The canvas paper is a linen derivative with an embossed finish. When you place an online order, make sure that the company from whom you are ordering has large-format inkjet printers and not souped-up copy machines.

Are Giclée Art Prints Worth It?

We help artists, companies, and individuals from all over the world to create or recreate beautiful images using Giclée art prints. Because of both the quality of the final images on high-grade canvas and the longevity of the final product, we recommend it to anyone looking for something beyond a standard print.

Our giclée printing services are always in high demand because of their indisputable beauty. One of the reasons for this demand is that giclée canvas printing requires special light-fast inks. We use only the best quality inks, inks that highlight all of the shades, nuances, and hues of the color of the original digital photograph or painting. Artisan HD specializes in the Giclée on Canvas method. With our large format inkjet printers, we can transfer your artwork and photography projects into fine art giclée prints.

Which Is Better? Canvas Or Acrylic Prints?2023-11-03T11:28:33-07:00

In terms of quality, when you upload your digital photos, you will get the same high quality reprints from custom plexiglass and canvas prints. Both are the result of a direct printing process using large format inject printers. However, the finished products look quite different from each other.

Our custom plexiglass / acrylic printing produces a sleek, shiny, modern glass reprint. With crisp, clean edges and sharp colors, acrylic prints look great in a home, office or gallery.

Our custom canvas prints are printed with UV-cured ink for long-lasting, vibrant colors. Canvas prints are more textured and traditional-looking than acrylic prints.

No matter which process you use, your personalized print will be a treasure forever.

Both canvas and acrylic prints are popular options for displaying your favorite custom artwork or photographs – but which one is better? They each have distinct characteristics, advantages, and looks so the “best” option will greatly depend on what you’re looking for as the person who will see the art regularly.

Canvas vs. Acrylic: Appearance

Canvas

Canvas provides a classic and artistic look to any piece of art because of the unique texture of the medium. This is due to the fibers of cotton or cotton-polyester blends that are woven together to comprise a blank canvas. It should be noted that there is a noticeable difference between high-quality canvas and cheaper canvas prints because the quality of the woven fibers and printing techniques can vary greatly. That “canvas look” you want fades as the price points go down.

Acrylic

Acrylic prints, also known as plexiglass, is a transparent lightweight material that can have images printed directly onto it or HD photo paper prints mounted to them. Prints on acrylic have a sleek and modern appearance and typically come with a glossy finish (though there are some non-glare matte finishes available for acrylic prints as well). Acrylic prints feature bright colors and add dimension to the image.

Canvas vs. Acrylic: Print Durability

Canvas

Canvas is mostly made of natural fibers and can be susceptible to moisture damage and damage from prolonged exposure to solar radiation. Canvas can withstand some wear and tear and all of these issues can be mitigated if it’s put in a protective frame so it can be just as durable as other print options.

Acrylic

Acrylic is shatter-resistant, moisture-resistant, and can also be resistant to UV radiation. This makes them an excellent choice for high-traffic areas, locations where accidental impacts may be a concern, and in any lighting condition.

Canvas vs. Acrylic: Weight & Hanging

Canvas

Because of the subframe, a canvas print will typically be heavier than an acrylic print. The subframe does provide an advantage as unlike acrylic prints, the subframe allows you to choose to either hang it on the wall as is or put it into a frame.

Acrylic

Acrylic prints are relatively lightweight as they don’t require a subframe and are made of light plexiglass. You can frame your acrylic print like you would any other print or choose unique-looking standoffs that affix your acrylic print to the wall with four mounts.

Canvas vs. Acrylic: Price

Canvas

Canvas prints can be more affordable with the caveat that the cheaper canvas options aren’t really a good comparison to an acrylic print. Keep in mind that a quality canvas print can still be cheaper than an acrylic print but the price difference between them won’t be as stark as compared to budget-conscious canvas options.

Acrylic

Pricing for acrylic prints will vary based on the printing method, direct to substrate or HD photo paper mounted, and whether or not you choose to add encapsulation (an option to add a protective coating to the print). Depending on what you choose, an acrylic print will tend to be slightly more expensive than a canvas print.

Canvas vs. Acrylic: Image Quality

Canvas

In terms of quality, when you upload your digital photos, you will get the same high-quality reprints from custom Acrylic and canvas prints. Our custom canvas prints are printed with UV-cured ink for long-lasting, vibrant colors. Canvas prints are more textured and traditional-looking than acrylic prints which will impact how the image looks.

Acrylic

While the image fidelity and quality are on par with canvas, acrylic prints look great with sharp colors and clean lighting. Perfect for photos or custom art, the acrylic printing process options (direct to substrate or HD photo paper) allow you to choose the type of print that you think looks best.

So, Which Is Better Canvas or Acrylic?

Choosing between acrylic prints and canvas prints depends on your preferences and the intended display environment. Acrylic prints offer a contemporary, vibrant look and enhanced durability, while canvas prints provide a traditional, artistic feel at a lower cost. Consider the style of the space, your budget, and the level of durability needed when making your decision.

What options do I have for custom canvas prints?2017-10-27T16:47:42-07:00

Canvas prints are photographs reprinted on a canvas surface. Artisan HD (High Definition) uses the highest quality of artist-grade canvas and inkjet printers to reproduce custom canvas prints of your photo. Using our high definition processing, we can turn your photo into a work of art. With our large format printers, we can take your digital photograph and turn it into a gorgeous high definition art canvas, and using our giclée method, we can deliver museum quality reprints — as big or as small as you wish to cover the wall space you want to fill.

Canvas prints are a beautiful alternative or addition to any room, big or small, in your home, or in your office. Much more durable than paper, canvas prints give depth and quality to a photograph that is incomparable.

Custom Canvas Prints

Finishing Options for Custom Canvas Prints

When you place your order online for personalized digital photo prints on canvas, you have a choice of how the canvas will be finished.

Canvas prints are stretched to fit over a 1.5″ deep wood frame or “stretcher bar”. If you want your prints framed afterwards, you will want to order simply the canvas print. That way you can buy a frame that you feel accentuates and enhances your digital canvas print.

However, if you want your custom canvas prints to stand alone unframed, you will want a gallery-wrapped canvas. Gallery-wrapped canvases are mounted in such a way as to give your photograph a more three-dimensional artistic quality. Some photo subjects look better gallery-wrapped than do others. Large natural landscapes or photos of a flower are good examples of when to choose gallery-wrapped canvas because the mounting process adds to the effect of a story artfully continued.

Our experienced staff will wrap the canvas around all of the edges of a wooden frame and secure the canvas in the back. When complete, the canvas has a totally finished look. No frame is needed and it’s ready for hanging.

Can a customer get anything printed? Are there any restrictions the image printed?2024-03-27T11:13:21-07:00

At ArtisanHD, we take pride in creating high-quality prints for our customers regardless of the content printed. However, we do have some restrictions on the content of images we reproduce. While it is exceedingly rare, we reserve the right to decline any print job for the following reasons:

  • Legality: We cannot print anything that violates copyright laws or depicts illegal activity.
  • Sensitivity: We avoid reproducing images that are overly sexual (no pornography), violent (no explicit gore), or exploitative towards children (no questionable images).
  • Respecting Artistic Expression: We understand that art can sometimes push boundaries.

If you have an image you’d like printed that might fall into a gray area, we encourage you to contact us directly to discuss it. We’ll work with you to find a solution that respects both your artistic vision and our printing policies.

Our goal is to provide a comfortable and inclusive environment for all our employees and customers, sometimes this means passing on a print job. We appreciate your understanding. For more information on our policies please visit our policy and terms.

What if my print is damaged during shipping?2024-03-27T11:13:30-07:00

Contact us ASAP and keep the box for the carrier’s claim. We’ll replace your print and keep you updated. Report defects or damage by email within 10 days of delivery to avoid waiving your claim. By accepting the print, you acknowledge ArtisanHD fulfilled all requirements.

Can I cancel my order?2024-03-27T11:13:38-07:00

Artisan HD begins work on your print the moment you submit your order so if you cancel withing 24hrs we can refund your money right away.

What’s Artisan HD’s return policy?2024-03-27T11:13:46-07:00

If you’re not 100% satisfied with your prints contact us within 10 days of receiving your order to return the item. We understand that getting the perfect print is important so our team works with you to either send you a reprint up to your standards or simply provide a refund. Though rare, there are instances in which refunds are not available:

  • Low image resolution: Always use the highest resolution image possible and understand resizing a small file won’t improve the quality.
  • User errors: Spelling, grammar or adding adhesives/hardware not designed for the print.
  • Exact monitor match: Color variations will always exist between a monitor and a print, while we can do exact color matching, that requires a custom order.

Note: Artisan HD does pre-print quality checks on all prints and will contact you to address these issues before printing. For more information on our return policy, please read our policy and terms. We always strive to go above and beyond to meet your expectations – just ask our customers!

Can I see a print proof before I order?2024-03-27T11:13:53-07:00

For most print orders, we do not provide print proofs. However, if you need to see color proofs before you purchase, please email us for custom order pricing and instructions.

How long does standard art print delivery take?2024-03-27T11:14:02-07:00

At ArtisanHD, we prioritize delivering high-quality prints to you as quickly as possible. Our standard turnaround time is 10 business days, this allows for added quality control on each print, secure packaging, and shipping to your door. Turnaround times may vary slightly depending on the chosen substrate, we’ll keep you informed throughout the process and provide you with the fastest delivery while maintaining the quality possible. If you’re in the Phoenix-Scottsdale area, you can pick your print up from our office in North Scottsdale at 8970 E Bahia Dr #104, Scottsdale, AZ 85260.

How fast can I get my art prints?2024-03-27T11:00:16-07:00

Artisan HD offers expedited shipping options Priority Overnight and 2-Day delivery if you need your prints right away. For large rush orders or corporate art prints, please contact us directly to discuss logistics and the timing of delivery.

Share your thoughts!

5 out of 5 stars

36 reviews

Let us know what you think...

0 reviews with a 1-star rating

There are no reviews with a 1-star rating yet

×

Login

Continue as a Guest

Price Calculator

Effortlessly determine prices for different products, sizes, and options using the calculator below—no need to upload a photo.

Ready to order? Click on the “Upload Your Photo” button below, and proceed to checkout.

Size: Width (in) Height (in)
Print Type:
Mount Type:
Encapsulate Type:
Hanging Type:
Addon Option:
Laminate Type:
Est Cost:

Aspect Ratio Note:
We want to ensure your experience is seamless and transparent. Please be aware that our Price Calculator provides you with estimated costs based on the width and height you enter here. The actual print size may vary due to the aspect ratio of the image you upload.

More

Understanding Aspect Ratio:
Aspect ratio is the proportional relationship between an image's width and height. Think of it as the "shape" of your image. For instance, a common aspect ratio for HD content is 16:9, meaning the width is 16 units for every 9 units of height.

Quality Matters:
Rest assured, we make adjustments to your image according to the aspect ratio to ensure a high-quality print. These adjustments are made with precision and care to deliver the best possible result.

A Minor Difference:
Any variation in print size due to aspect ratio is typically small and should not lead to confusion or frustration. We want you to have a great quality print that matches your expectations.

Thank you for choosing us for your fine art printing needs!

New Product Tab

Here's your new product tab.

Subscribe to our email newsletter & save $10 on your next order of $50 or more!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

ArtisanHD.com Makes It Easy for You to Order Perfect Large-Format Custom Printing Online

Why Choose ArtisanHD?

  • We treat you like a person, not a number. With our dedicated staff of craftspeople, your order receives the personalized attention it deserves.
  • Our customers like us! You don’t have to take our word for it - just read some of our customer reviews.
  • Our top-of-the-line photographic and printing equipment offer both the professional and recreational artist the very best tools, materials & craftsmanship to produce stunning museum-quality masterpieces.
  • Our custom configurator offers unique cropping and scaling functionality along with a print preview so you can see exactly how your artwork will look printed.
  • Work with an award winning team! We are proud recipients of two American Marketing Association Awards. Read More »

ArtisanHD Customer Reviews

As the owner of a small startup company, I looked around The Valley and online for professional high quality printed products. Other solutions always seemed to come with a tradeoff: poor customer service, product size constraints, high pricing and volume, or even bad finish quality. Working with Mike and his team I was able to produce the high quality unique products at competitive prices that I was looking for without compromise. Their knowledgeable customer service was phenomenal! We were even able to find solutions to some of the more complex printing and finishing requirements I needed. I’ll definitely be working with them again on future projects!
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Lee D.Lee D., The Art of Lee Davis
I recently sold one of my Digital Art pieces and the team at ArtisanHD have the complete package really sorted out! They are a friendly, client orientated and totally professional team who happen to produce spectacular prints as well! Thanks guys for keeping everyone very happy!
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Dale B.Dale B.
Fantastic staff, fantastic facilities, second to none product quality output. I feel like you're my secret weapon.
Beautiful print work and customer service of the highest order – you'll be so thrilled with how well you're treated, and how they'll go the extra mile to make sure you're happy and satisfied with the final result.
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Denise S.Denise S.
It's rare I find a company today where the customer service, quality and pricing meet most every need I'm looking for. It's even rarer to find those companies where the staff are not only willing to meet those expectations, but surpass them. In a very stressful situation I created for myself, the staff at Artisan went out of their way to help me find a answer to my predicament. Their team worked with me to find a fast solution pulling me out of a situation I knew very few companies would go out of their way to solve. It's those actions I use to choose who I will send my next job. The service was awesome! The quality was awesome! Their staff was Awesome!
Raegan S.
Artisan Colour is the most creative, talented and friendly place to print and mind meld.  I have been satisfied with every experience I have had with them.  Front end to delivery topnotch.  So glad I was directed to them.
Adrienne M.
Simply the best. Great client services, great people, and great products.
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Dan M.Dan M.
When I inadvertently shipped a limited edition print to a customer before signing it, Artisan was quick to have it rerouted back to their facility to resolve my issue. When I then showed up during the holiday season –– right before New Year's Eve –– I was met by no less than the company's president, Doug Bondon, who was genuinely happy to assist me and get my order on its way in a matter of minutes. Folks, this is what topnotch, white glove service really looks like. Outstanding!
Michael M., Your Content Goes Here
Go to Top