Direct to Acrylic Prints

Starting at $45.94 per sq. ft.

(17 customer reviews)

Transform your image into a stunning masterpiece when you print your photography or fine artwork directly to acrylic plexiglass. Acrylic glass prints give you a museum feel. Looking for Common Size Pricing? CLICK HERE!

  • 1/4″ rigid acrylic plexiglass, no paper required
  • Choose Standard or Full Bleed Finish
  • Easy hanging system available
  • UV cured ink stands up to outdoor conditions
  • Unmatched image detail and durability
SKU: direct-to-acrylic-prints Category: Tag:

Amazing Depth. Stunning Results with Acrylic Photo Prints.

Direct print onto 1/4″ acrylic (plexiglass) to make your unique images instantly more dynamic as the rich colors interact beautifully with light.

This printing process does not require photo paper or additional mounting materials and is available with and without stainless steel stand-offs. ArtisanHD will print your photo or digital artwork directly to the acrylic plexiglass surface. Known for optimum ink adhesion, Direct to Acrylic prints deliver high-resolution images with rich detail and durability as a long-lasting print solution. UV cured ink stands up to the environment, which means acrylic glass prints are not affected by humidity and can be hung outside (place out of direct sunlight for the maximum duration).

“The quality of my photos are brought to another level with the direct-to-plexi print option. I can’t say enough for what ArtisanHD has done to bring the impact and professionalism I’ve always wanted to my work.”

Adam Figliola Phoenix Photographer & Happy ArtisanHD CustomerAdam F.

Recommended Acrylic Photographic Prints Mount Hanging System

plexi-standoffs

Our Standard Salon Mount with a 2″ clear border and 1″ stainless steel standoffs is the hanging system we recommend for all of our acrylic art prints.

These modern and durable 1″ stainless steel mounting barrels are super easy to install! Your acrylic glass pictures (also known as plexiglass) will come with 4 holes pre-cut into the acrylic print surface. Each hole is slightly oversized for optimal hanging alignment, in case you’re hanging measurements happen to be off by just a touch.

By allowing light to fall behind your artwork display, our Standard Salon Mount hanging system provides your artwork with a professionally lit effect.

Custom Acrylic Frameless Mounting Options

Choose from a range of acrylic wall decorations or finishing options that fit your decor. You can select our Standard Mount with 1″ Stainless Steel Standoffs or if you prefer Full Bleed Direct to Acrylic prints without a clear border, we also have that option for your acrylic picture.

If you plan to add your own frame, be sure to pick “none” for your selected hanging option while checking out.

Standard Mount w/ Standoffs
Salon Mount with Standoffs
Standard Mount w/o Standoffs
salon mount acrylic print
Full Bleed w/ Standoffs
Stainless Steel Standoffs Fullbleed

PLEASE NOTE: We do our best to ensure that you are pleased with your print, from production to installation. Because of this, we are unable to offer either the Museum Mount or Float Mount hanging system with our direct to acrylic prints. As we’d be affixing these frames directly onto the printed ink layer on the back of your acrylic plexiglass print, which would be a possible ink adhesion failure point.

Custom Acrylic Prints In Almost Any Size

Whether your looking for a series of small glass prints (plexiglass / acrylic) that make up a larger panel or you want an extra-large acrylic picture to complete your room, ArtisanHD offers a wide array of sizes to choose from.

Most common acrylic art print sizes:

  • 12×18
  • 18×24
  • 20×30
  • 24×36
  • 30×40

Not sure what your Direct to Acrylic print will look like? Try a sample print today!

Order Print Samples!
Order Print Samples!

Have questions about our direct to acrylic plexiglass prints?

Check out our helpful Acrylic & Plexiglass FAQs, call us directly at 1 (877) 948-0009, or email us at Support@ArtisanHD.com.

FAQs

How to Customize your Artwork with “Print Recipes”2022-09-20T04:28:49-07:00

We know that having a lot of options can sometimes be a bit overwhelming. Especially when deciphering how to best customize your own artwork with all of our various print products and styling options. This is why we’ve implemented our brand new Print Recipes functionality!

Choose from one of our three professionally crafted preset recipes within the upload configurator or customize and save your own. Your go-to favorites will always remain stored under “Recipes” when logged into your account. Designed for a simpler ordering and checkout process!

print recipes configurator artisanhd

ArtisanHD’s Preset Recipes

Entry-Level: “Emerging Artist”  emerging artist customize recipes

Fuji Gloss, 1/8” Acrylic, Vinyl Encapsulation & Sintra Museum-Back

Let your inner artist shine by printing your photographs and artwork with impeccable high-sheen and rich colors. Your print will then be applied to the back of an 1/8” thick crystal clear plexiglass sheet, complete with an affordable lightweight protective vinyl barrier and sintra museum-back for clean and easy hanging.

 

 

customize print recipes college grad artisanhdMid-Grade: “The College Grad”

Kodak Metallic, 1/4” Acrylic, Sintra Encapsulation & Black Sintra Museum-Back

Graduate your artwork to the next level by creating striking, three-dimensional pearlescent metallic photo prints with a deeper than glass effect. The ¼” thick layer of acrylic paired with lightweight 3mm Sintra provides your images with professional protection and exceptional clarity. The black sintra museum-back will have black painted edges and is easy to hang.

 

 

customize print recipes pro artisanhdHigh-End: “The PRO”

FujiFlex, 1/8” TruLife Acrylic, White Dibond Encapsulation & Black Aluminum Museum-Back

Create pro level gallery quality artwork with our top selling HD photo paper and anti-reflective acrylic combo! Add depth, and give your photos a true to life appearance that other acrylic products simply cannot match. Protect your investment & ensure durability with our professional Dibond metal encapsulation finish. We supply this version with a black powder-coated aluminum museum-back frame and Z-clip for easy hanging.

 

Customize & Save Your Own Print Recipes

print recipes customize your own artisanhdDo you have a favorite print combo that you’re constantly reaching for?

Kodak Metallic paper mounted to 1/4″ plexiglass acrylic? FujiFlex paper and Trulife (non-glare) Acrylic? Or perhaps direct to dibond brushed metal?

Whatever it may be, now you can customize your favorite go-to’s and save them for later.

Name your and save your own recipes! (example: “John’s Favorite Combo” or “My Gallery Prints”) 

Best method to clean plexiglass acrylic2022-09-21T05:41:32-07:00

Trulife Acrylic prints and/or standard plexiglass acrylic prints are beautiful and durable art for the home, offices and even museums. Like any artwork, it needs to be cleaned regularly to keep it’s luster and quality.

So what are the best methods to clean plexiglass acrylic prints? Follow these three steps to get scratch-free clean artwork:

  1. Wipe down the plexiglass with a microfiber cloth. This removes any built-up dust or debris that may have accumulated.
  2. Spray plexiglass with plastic cleaner. Do not use harsh chemicals like ammonia or alcohol-based cleaners.
  3. Wipe off plexiglass with a microfiber cloth. Make sure the surface is wiped dry to prevent streaks.

Can I use a paper towel to clean my plexiglass print?

No. Paper towels vary in softness and absorption, they can leave scratches or streaks on your plexiglass. Always use a microfiber cloth to clean plexiglass.

Can I use eyeglass cleaner to clean my plexiglass print?

Yes. Any gentle monitor or glass cleaner will work just as well as a plexiglass plastic cleaner on your art. Never use harsh cleaners with ammonia or alcohol.

Plexiglass Encapsulation Layer Protection

encapsulate trulife acrylic print plexiglass acrylic

Want even more protection for your plexiglass acrylic prints? Consider adding an encapsulation layer during the printing process. It will offer both an additional layer of protection to your print PLUS opacity. Opacity is important when you choose a museum-back (hidden floating frame) since the back could create a darker (i.e. visible) line where the frame touches the print.

Encapsulation Benefits:

  • Long-lasting durability
  • Opacity
  • Gallery-style look
  • Rigid, frameless finish

Protect your investment with the right cleaning products and an encapsulated print from ArtisanHD. Transform your artwork into long-lasting, museum-quality gallery prints.

Looking for more information? Check out the related FAQ: Do I need backing or an encapsulation layer on Trulife Acrylic?

Do I need backing or an encapsulation layer on Trulife Acrylic?2021-06-21T21:37:54-07:00

encapsulation layer on trulife acrylic image2 artisanhdAdding an encapsulation layer on Trulife Acrylic prints or mounted under any acrylic print is always a good idea. Not only does it offer an additional layer of protection to your print, but it also adds opacity.

This becomes important when we are adding a museum-back (hidden floating frame) as it could create a darker line where the wooden frame touches the photo-print. Be it TruLife, standard 1/8” or 1/4” acrylic, encapsulation is a good call for any of these finishing options.

Adding An Encapsulation Layer On Trulife Acrylic Prints Add Maximum Protection

Protect your investment. Encapsulated prints at ArtisanHD will not only transform your artwork into gallery level works of art. The extra layer added will also offer complete protection for long-lasting, durable prints. So you can admire your prints with peace of mind.

encapsulation layer on trulife acrylic image artisanhd

Benefits:

  • Gallery level look
  • Long-lasting durability
  • Rigid, frameless finish

Encapsulation Options:

  • Dibond® white aluminum
  • 3mm Sintra
  • Opaque white vinyl

Looking for more information? Check out the related FAQ: Is there a handy guide to help me choose from all the art installation hanging systems ArtisanHD currently offers?

 

When a print is mounted to a plexiglass design, is the museum back bonded directly to the back of the print?2021-06-21T21:39:48-07:00

Yes, when you select a plexiglass design and your print is directly mounted to the plexiglass, the museum mount is also bonded directly to the back of the print.

Acrylic Photo-mount, Plexiglass Design

Mounted Print “Floats”

You also have the option to add another before the museum mounting. This is called Acrylic Print Encapsulation. If you are interested in this specialized plexiglass design and mounting option, please contact our Artisans directly at (877) 948-0009. We will gladly create a custom design and quote for you. No matter how your artwork is mounted and displayed on your walls, the plexiglass print will make your images truly  shine and stand out!

How would you compare custom plexiglass to canvas prints from ArtisanHD?2017-10-27T16:16:53-07:00

In terms of quality, when you upload your digital photos, you will get the same high quality reprints from custom plexiglass and canvas prints. Both are the result of a direct printing process using large format inject printers. However, the finished products look quite different from each other.

Our custom plexiglass / acrylic printing produces a sleek, shiny, modern glass reprint. With crisp, clean edges and sharp colors, acrylic prints look great in a home, office or gallery.

Our custom canvas prints are printed with UV-cured ink for long-lasting, vibrant colors. Canvas prints are more textured and traditional-looking than acrylic prints.

No matter which process you use, your personalized print will be a treasure forever.

What is direct to substrate printing?2022-05-24T15:36:43-07:00

Direct to substrate printing refers to printing an image directly on the surface rather than the image printed on HD photo paper, then mounted to the substrate. In the case of direct to Plexiglass or acrylic prints, the substrate is Plexiglass. Substrate, in this instance, refers to the surface being printed on.

Direct to Substrate Printing

Why Use Direct to Substrate Printing?

Substrate surfaces are so versatile and durable that they are used by professional artists, galleries, museums, framing shops and specialized printers to enhance the artistry and uniqueness of a photo or fine art piece. Professional mounting finished the artwork and makes it display as if its in a gallery.

What’s the difference between direct to print and paper mounted prints?2022-08-10T10:49:55-07:00
ArtisanHD direct to print acrylic print landscape photography

ArtisanHD direct to print acrylic

We offer two types of plexiglass or acrylic prints: direct to print and paper mounted.

Direct to Print

Our most popular plexi print is direct to plexi, or direct to acrylic. For this print type, we print your photo directly to the back of 1/4″ plexiglass, without paper. This option includes a 2″ border and stainless steel standoffs.

Paper Mounted

We also offer a plexiglass print solution where you first choose your high definition photo paper, then we mount the paper to the back of the a 1/4″ piece of Plexi. This option is called paper mounted and covers 100% of the plexi. It is mounted with a museum back.

For more information, visit our Product Page.

How can I ensure long-lasting hd photo prints?2017-10-27T16:25:09-07:00

To help your hd photo prints last as long as possible, follow a few simple tips. Keep your digital prints away from any environment that has excessive moisture or heat. Protect your hd photo printsTo prevent fading, do not place your photos in direct sunlight. You might even want to move your photos from place to place within a room or house to ensure that no one print receives too much sunlight. You can dust your hd photo prints with a feather duster or a lint-free damp cloth. Because acrylic glass surfaces can be easily scratched, take care to be very gentle when you clean them.

How do you mount photos on plexiglass or acrylic?2017-10-27T16:28:04-07:00

Mounting photos on plexiglass / acrylic is an art form in itself. We use face mounting – a labor-intensive method that requires an experienced professional to do it perfectly. This method is often used in art galleries and museums around the world.

What is “plexiglass”?2022-08-02T15:26:33-07:00

Plexiglass is a type of highly durable transparent acrylic plastic that can be formed and used in various applications. It is often used in place of glass and has unique properties that make it a better-suited option in many instances.

Plexiglas? Plexiglass? Acryclic? Acrylic Glass? What’s the difference?

The differences between these terms are largely semantic: Plexiglas is a trademarked term for a type of acrylic glass, plexiglass (with two ‘s’) is a generic term for acrylic glass. while acrylic is just short for acrylic glass.

What is commonly known as “Plexiglass”, is really a brand of acrylic and today it is sold under many different names, including Acrylite, Lucite and Perspex. In most applications “plexiglass” or “acrylic” can be used interchangeably as they are both referring to a strong clear plastic.

But why use plexiglass for art and photo prints?

A stylish and eye-catching alternative to canvas prints, acrylic glass prints provide superior results for high-definition custom prints. In many ways and for several applications, prints on acrylic glass are a better choice than canvas. Advantages of plexi over canvas include:

  • More durable
  • Unique look
  • Different mounting/framing options

We encourage you to try it as it’s a wonderful alternative to printing on canvas. Want to know more about why to choose plexiglass aka acrylic; check out this blog post:  What is the difference between a photo print mounted to acrylic vs. a direct digital print on acrylic?

ArtisanHD plexi or direct to acrylic print landscape photography

Can ArtisanHD print to plexiglass?2022-03-08T11:12:00-07:00

Yes. Artisan HD can take your amateur or professional photos and artwork and print to plexiglass using a special direct printing method. For more information, read our BLOG.

Is special hardware required to hang my acrylic print?2020-10-06T08:05:12-07:00

Yes, the art mounting hardware you selected during your configuration process will be shipped with your print, ready to hang. You just need to pick out a wonderful display wall and grab a screwdriver or drill. Wondering which mount is right for your print? Check out this related FAQ and our guide.

How to Hang Your Print with the Provided Art Mounting Hardware – 1″ Stainless Steel Standoffs

Our ArtisanHD print expert artisans take great care with your artwork and we want your standoff mounts to look stunning and professional on your walls. You’ll learn everything you need to know about hanging standoff prints with this helpful step by step, easy to follow video with key visuals to guide you along the way.

Follow along as our ArtisanHD print experts provide easy instructions and tips for how to hang your professional standoff prints in the video below – we’ve even included a few extra pro tips to make your print hanging process extra smooth! All art mounting hardware is included with your print.

How to Hang Your Museum Mounted Prints

Our expert print artisans at ArtisanHD take great care with your artwork – from helping you upload your project artwork to providing professional printing and even helping you hanging your work of art on your wall. Every step matters. Follow along as our ArtisanHD print experts walk you through these easy directions and tips for how to hang your museum mounted print.

In less than two minutes you’ll learn everything you need to know about hanging a museum mounted print, no matter the size or material! The step-by-step video guide is easy to follow with key visuals to help you along the way. We even share a few pro tips for mounting in drywall and fixing a slightly unlevel hang (it’s easier than you may think). Hanging your museum mounted print is a snap – in no time at all your custom artwork will be “floating” on your walls!

What is face mounting photos to acrylic?2022-09-21T05:37:28-07:00

Face mounting photos to acrylic, also called second surface mounting, is a superior method for ensuring longevity and for giving a professional finished look to acrylic prints. Although it is a delicate process and requires time and a great deal of professional experience, we feel it gives the final product an almost three-dimensional, museum-quality result that is difficult to surpass. The glass also protects the photo from fading, dust and scratches.

Acrylic Face Mount Print in Dining Room - Face Mounting Photos to Acyrlic

Acrylic Face Mount Print 

With face mounting, we apply a special silicone glue archival crystal clear film adhesive to the print and then mount the front of the acrylic photo to it. The bond between the UV-resistant glass and the photo is airtight. Because of the airtight bond, there is no light reflection between the glass and the photo. It adds depth and makes the photo look like it is part of the acrylic. When paired with our Metallic or FujiFlex photo paper, face mounting photos to acrylic creates a look that has to been seen to be believed. This ensures that vivid colors achieved by the acrylic printing process are not compromised.

We then attach a museum back to the print. The backing creates a 1″ space between picture and wall, which makes it appear as if it is floating away from the wall, giving additional dimension to the photo.

Why custom printing on acrylic?2017-10-27T16:54:16-07:00

Digital printing on acrylic is a great alternative to printing on regular photographic paper or other mediums. Acrylic printing has a lustrous glossy finish, which not only adds to the contemporary look, but also brings out a depth and clarity to your photos that are incomparable.

Direct to Acrylic Prints, Printing on AcrylicSpecially treated, this professional process ensures that your photos will last a lifetime. The mounting process we use also protects your photos from humidity and sunlight, (although you should be careful not to expose them to direct sunlight or high humidity conditions).

Professional printing on acrylic lends a very contemporary look to the final product. It brings the fine art of photography to a whole new level of modern art. We frequently recommend acrylic mounted photos for displaying modern works of fine art and photography.

Can you create digital photos on acrylic?2022-07-21T09:01:36-07:00

Yes, Artisan HD can take your images and create digital photos on acrylic. There are two options when it comes to printing on acrylic: direct to substrate or surface mounted. Family Photo Gift Ideas, Photos on AcrylicWhen your image is printed direct to the substrate surface, such as acrylic or a board, the uv-cured ink bonds to the surface. When it is surface mounted, the image is printed on HD photo paper, then mounted to the acrylic. This is also referred to as second surface or face mounting. Both processes create stunning, professional ways to print digital photos on acrylic.

To see more about the process, read more HERE.

Share your thoughts!

5 out of 5 stars

17 reviews

Let us know what you think...

0 reviews with a 2-star rating

There are no reviews with a 2-star rating yet

×

Login

Continue as a Guest

Subscribe to our email newsletter & save $10 on your next order of $50 or more!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

ArtisanHD.com Makes It Easy for You to Order Perfect Large-Format Custom Printing Online

Why Choose ArtisanHD?

  • We treat you like a person, not a number. With our dedicated staff of craftspeople, your order receives the personalized attention it deserves.
  • Our customers like us! You don’t have to take our word for it - just read some of our customer reviews.
  • Our top-of-the-line photographic and printing equipment offer both the professional and recreational artist the very best tools, materials & craftsmanship to produce stunning museum-quality masterpieces.
  • Our custom configurator offers unique cropping and scaling functionality along with a print preview so you can see exactly how your artwork will look printed.
  • Work with an award winning team! We are proud recipients of two American Marketing Association Awards. Read More »

ArtisanHD Customer Reviews

As the owner of a small startup company, I looked around The Valley and online for professional high quality printed products. Other solutions always seemed to come with a tradeoff: poor customer service, product size constraints, high pricing and volume, or even bad finish quality. Working with Mike and his team I was able to produce the high quality unique products at competitive prices that I was looking for without compromise. Their knowledgeable customer service was phenomenal! We were even able to find solutions to some of the more complex printing and finishing requirements I needed. I’ll definitely be working with them again on future projects!
I recently sold one of my Digital Art pieces and the team at ArtisanHD have the complete package really sorted out! They are a friendly, client orientated and totally professional team who happen to produce spectacular prints as well! Thanks guys for keeping everyone very happy!
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Dale B.Dale B.
Fantastic staff, fantastic facilities, second to none product quality output. I feel like you're my secret weapon.
Beautiful print work and customer service of the highest order – you'll be so thrilled with how well you're treated, and how they'll go the extra mile to make sure you're happy and satisfied with the final result.
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Denise S.Denise S.
It's rare I find a company today where the customer service, quality and pricing meet most every need I'm looking for. It's even rarer to find those companies where the staff are not only willing to meet those expectations, but surpass them. In a very stressful situation I created for myself, the staff at Artisan went out of their way to help me find a answer to my predicament. Their team worked with me to find a fast solution pulling me out of a situation I knew very few companies would go out of their way to solve. It's those actions I use to choose who I will send my next job. The service was awesome! The quality was awesome! Their staff was Awesome!
Raegan S.
Artisan Colour is the most creative, talented and friendly place to print and mind meld.  I have been satisfied with every experience I have had with them.  Front end to delivery topnotch.  So glad I was directed to them.
Adrienne M.
Simply the best. Great client services, great people, and great products.
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Dan M.Dan M.
When I inadvertently shipped a limited edition print to a customer before signing it, Artisan was quick to have it rerouted back to their facility to resolve my issue. When I then showed up during the holiday season –– right before New Year's Eve –– I was met by no less than the company's president, Doug Bondon, who was genuinely happy to assist me and get my order on its way in a matter of minutes. Folks, this is what topnotch, white glove service really looks like. Outstanding!
Michael M., Your Content Goes Here
Go to Top