Matte / Glossy Photo Papers

Starting at $16.41 per sq. ft.

(39 customer reviews)

Serious about image quality in custom-printed photos? Start with great photo paper! From Cannon Matte to Austin Jet Silver Paper, find out which museum-quality kind is best for your project.

  • Thick, professional grade paper
  • 3 paper types to choose from
  • Print sizes up to 91.75″ x 43.75″
  • 17 hanging and framing options


Bring your masterpeice to life
in 3 easy steps

  1. Choose Print Type & Mount Type
  2. Upload your Image
  3. Choose Frame Option
Print Type
SKU: hd-photo-papers Category: Tags: ,

HD Photography Deserves Premium Photo Paper

Don’t settle for cheap poster prints or standard photo paper that will fade. At ArtisanHD, we can recreate a visually-enhanced memory that will last a lifetime with professional photo printing on photo-quality paper.

All of our HD photo papers are thick, professional-grade, museum-quality, and printed on-site sustainably. From our much-trusted Cannon Matte paper to our high-end ImageTech Photo Gloss or Austin Jet Silver Paper photo papers, this is the real deal!

Laminated prints are also available.

Photo Paper Types – Brands & Finishes

ImageTech Photo Gloss

FujiFlex Crystal Archive LightJet HD Photo Paper Sample

Our top-selling HD photo paper has an extremely high-gloss finish, which adds depth and richness to make your image look almost 3D. It is optimized for professional gallery-level color printing of displays and commercial prints.

Austin Jet Silver Paper

Kodak Endura Metallic HD Photo Paper Sample

Austin Jet Silver Paper has a glossy finish and a pearlescent metallic appearance. This paper uses a proprietary combination of film laminate layers, which results in striking, three-dimensional, lasting images on an ultra-bright background.

Canon Matte

HD Photo Paper Matte

Our Canon Matte paper is smooth to the touch and has no sheen, meaning reflection and shine will be minimal. Your images will have color depth on a matte surface. Canon Matte has an extremely accurate color reproduction range and helps create unique, impressive images.

Finishing Option – Laminate

HD Photo Paper Laminated

Available for Austin Jet Silver Paper and ImageTech Photo Gloss this additional layer of laminate adds protection to your first surface mounting. Available in Matte, Luster, and Gloss.

“I am amazed at the quality and depth of my printed photos! Artisan HD makes my work come to life!”

Christy L., ArtisanHD Customer

Hanging, Framing & Finishing Options

You have your high-resolution photo and you’ve selected the best paper to print photos on – how are you going to display it? We offer several popular photo paper hanging, framing and finishing options for you to find the perfect display for your HD printed photo. Choose between traditional options like frames and Sintra boards to more eye-popping options like Dibond sheets, Plexiglass or Infinity boards.

Plexi / Acrylic 1/4″

high definition art printing acrylic

Plexi / Acrylic 1/8″

high definition art printing acrylic

Plexi Salon Mount

salon mount acrylic print

White Dibond

White Dibond

Dibond Brushed Aluminum

Dibond with Standoff mounting

3/16″ White Foam Core

Foam Core Mounting

Silver Frame Thick or Thin

high definition printing silver frame

Black Frame Thick or Thin

high definition printing black frame

Black Sintra 6mm

high definition printing black sintra

Black Sintra 3mm

high definition printing black sintra

White Sintra 6mm

high definition printing white sintra

White Sintra 3mm

high definition printing white foam board

Black Infinity Board 1/2″

high definition printing black gatorboard

Black Infinity Board 3/16″

high definition printing black gatorboard

White Infinity Board 1/2″

high definition printing white gatorboard

White Infinity Board 3/16″

high definition printing white gatorboard

Not sure what your HD Photo Paper print will look like? Try a sample print today!

Order Print Samples!
Order Print Samples!

Have questions about our HD photo papers?

Check out our helpful FAQs in the tab above, call us directly at 1 (877) 948-0009, or email us at Support@ArtisanHD.com.

FAQs

What’s A Dry Lab Photo Print? Why Use It Over Wet Lab Printing?2023-12-08T11:03:04-07:00

Dry lab printing, also known as digital photo labs, refers to a variety of photo printing methods including dye sublimation, thermal printing, solid ink printing, and electrophotography. It’s considered a “dry” process in comparison to other types of photo printing methods (known as wet lab printing) that use light exposure on reactive paper developed in chemical baths to produce images. Instead of using “wet” processes like those found in an old photo lab, dry lab printing uses other types of printing technologies like specialized inks and printers that don’t require a long list of chemicals or a dedicated darkroom.

Why is dye sublimation best & how does it work?

The most common type of dry lab printer is a dye sublimation printer where an image is printed to transfer paper which is then applied to and heated onto the desired medium. This two-part process includes precision printing onto a transfer sheet and the use of heat to transfer solid dye pigments onto the medium.

It’s referred to as sublimation because the solid dye pigments on the transfer paper turn from being in a solid state (dried ink) directly into a gas without being a liquid as a step in between. This occurs due to the high temperature of the heat press. As the temperature decreases, the gas reverts to a solid state, resulting in a permanent, high-quality image transferred onto the substrate. Once cooled, the printed substrate retains the colors and details from the original image, creating a durable and vibrant print.

With dye sublimation’s wider color gamut, you can produce high-end photos that are sharper and more vibrant than traditional wet lab printing methods. Specialized inks, paper, and technologically advanced printers use a six-step process to produce perfect photo reproductions with dye sublimation:

  1. Image Preparation – The image file is edited to optimize for color, resolution, and size scaling for printing.
  2. Printing – Using a specialized paper called transfer paper, the image is printed using a special dye sublimation printer and dye ribbon.
  3. Aligning Transfer Paper – The printed transfer paper is aligned with a substrate (most commonly a specially coated paper or polyester fabric) and placed into the heat press.
  4. Heat and Pressure Application – The heat press applies the exact right amount of high temperature and pressure for the requisite amount of time to the transfer paper and substrate.
  5. Dye Sublimation – The gas, from the previously solid ink, penetrates the surface of the substrate. This embeds it within the coating of the paper or the fibers of the fabric.
  6. Cooling and Finishing – After the transfer process is complete, the substrate is allowed to cool and any encapsulation or sealant is added.

What are other dry lab printing methods?

“Dry lab” prints refer to an array of other printing methods aside from dye sublimation. While they are all different in their methodology and technology, they all avoid using harsh chemical baths to produce top-quality photos.

  • Inkless Thermal Printing – Becoming more common in smaller commercial applications, this method uses heat-sensitive paper that changes color when exposed to heat. It uses thermal exposure instead of the traditional wet lab’s use of light exposure.
  • Solid Ink Printing – Specialized ink comes in the form of hardened sticks then is heated to a liquid state, applied to the printing medium, and heated to set solid again. This is most similar to dye sublimation but it uses solid ink blocks instead of a dye ribbon.
  • Electrophotography – Also known as electrostatic printing, these printers use electrostatic charges and toner particles to create an image. Very similar to laser lithography but with electricity instead of laser beams.

Why use dry lab prints over wet lab prints?

When comparing wet lab vs dry lab it’s important to note the ongoing advancements in photo printing technology that continue to push the quality of prints up while keeping the prices down.

Dry lab prints are the next generation of photo prints in that their quality and lower impact on the environment are far superior to traditional wet lab prints. Dry lab printing offers several advantages over traditional methods, including faster printing speeds, consistent output quality, and the ability to print on a variety of surfaces and sizes.

It’s widely used in professional photography studios, print shops, and photo printing services due to its efficiency and ability to produce high-quality prints.

What makes the Canon Colorado Gel-Ink printer so special for art prints?2023-11-02T11:23:33-07:00

ArtisanHD has recently installed a new Canon Colorado Gel-Ink printer. Part of what makes the Canon Colorado so special is the introduction of new ink and finishing technologies.

Primarily there are 3 key reasons why you should print on the Canon Colorado:

Canon Colorado print CU

#1 – UV gel ink produces clearer images with brighter colors and greater image contrast.

Unlike most printers (even commercial-grade printers), the Canon Colorado uses inks that are cured using UV light during the printing process. As the ink comes out of the printer an attachment to the printer projects UV light onto the ink and instantly cures it. Because of this, the inks are specially designed to offer unique advantages over standard printers.

#2 – The Canon UV gel ink provides a durable, scratch-resistant layer that needs no further protection for most applications.

This ink is also more flexible, providing the ability to stretch without damage when prints need to be folded, creased, wrapped, or stretched on a frame. This makes it ideal for several different mediums, such as HD photo paper, watercolor paper, or even canvas.

#3 – The new FLX finish technology, with which you can print your images with a beautiful glossy finish or a luxurious matte finish.

For a matte finish or when using porous media, a brief flash of UV light pins the UV gel droplets in place immediately after jetting, freezing the shape of every drop of ink. This results in a rough surface at the micro-level, providing the characteristic velvety-matte finish.

For instance, with a glossy finish, the droplets get a little more time to settle into a smooth, even layer.

Matte vs Gloss 1 custom art prints online

The difference between Glossy and Matte finish

#4 – Low-odor, faster-drying UV inks

Inks used in other printers can have distinct and unpleasant smell as well as take much longer to dry because of what they are made out of to achieve their colors:

  • Pigments or dyes – give unique color to the ink but can also give a unique smell
  • Solvents – used to disperse pigments throughout the ink, alcohols, glycols and other chemicals have a chemical smell
  • Resins or binders – to help the ink adhere to the surface but can give off a strong chemical smell
  • Additives or fillers – used to improve specific characteristics of an ink, non-UV ink can require many different chemicals to perform properly

UV ink not only doesn’t smell like many inks, but because it’s instantly cured by UV light, it dries faster and allows for faster shipping.

#5 – Lower environmental impact than non-UV inks

With the growing importance of sustainable printing practices, UV inks are a perfect example of advancing technology that reduces the environmental impact while also providing a superior product – truly the best of both worlds.

HD Canon Colorado 1sheet 1200 x 1500 px1 2Not sure if you’d like watercolor paper? Choose 4 types of paper samples for $10 and get $10 back on your next order. Order samples here!

To learn more about the amazing capabilities of the Canon Colorado Gel Ink Printer, download this printable 1-sheet here.

How To Order Customized Artwork With Preset Print Recipes2023-09-29T10:40:19-07:00

At Artisan HD we pride ourselves in giving you options. Virtually any medium, size, ink or other custom configuration is available to you on our site. The problem with so many options for printing your art is that it can be difficult to know where to start. Is canvas worth it? Will a metal print fit my idea? Is acrylic the way to go?

We know that having a lot of options can sometimes be a bit overwhelming. Especially when deciphering how to best customize your own artwork so we’ve created Print Recipes to simplify the customization process.

Choose from one of our three professionally crafted preset recipes within the upload configurator or customize and save your own. Your go-to favorites will always remain stored under “Recipes” when logged into your account. Designed for a simpler ordering and checkout process!

print recipes customize artwork artisanhd

ArtisanHD’s Preset Recipes

emerging artist customize recipes

Entry-Level: “Emerging Artist”

ImageTech Photo Gloss, 1/8” Acrylic, Vinyl Encapsulation & Sintra Museum-Back

Let your inner artist shine by printing your photographs and artwork with impeccable high-sheen and rich colors. Your print will then be applied to the back of a 1/8” thick crystal clear plexiglass sheet, complete with an affordable lightweight protective vinyl barrier and Sintra museum-back for clean and easy hanging.

customize print recipes college grad artisanhd

Mid-Grade: “The College Grad”

Austin Jet Silver Paper, 1/4” Acrylic, Sintra Encapsulation & Black Sintra Museum-Back

Graduate your artwork to the next level by creating striking, three-dimensional pearlescent metallic photo prints with a deeper-than-glass effect. The ¼” thick layer of acrylic paired with lightweight 3mm Sintra provides your images with professional protection and exceptional clarity. The black Sintra museum-back will have black painted edges and is easy to hang.

customize print recipes pro artisanhd

High-End: “The PRO”

ImageTech Photo Gloss, 1/8” TruLife Acrylic, White Dibond Encapsulation & Black Aluminum Museum-Back

Create pro-level gallery-quality artwork with our top-selling HD photo paper and anti-reflective acrylic combo! Add depth, and give your photos a true-to-life appearance that other acrylic products simply cannot match. Protect your investment & ensure durability with our professional Dibond metal encapsulation finish. We supply this version with a black powder-coated aluminum museum-back frame and Z-clip for easy hanging.

Customize & Save Your Own Print Recipes

print recipes customize your own artisanhd

Do you have a favorite print combo that you’re constantly reaching for?

Austin Jet Silver Paper mounted to 1/4? plexiglass acrylic? Austin Jet Silver Paper and Trulife (non-glare) Acrylic? Or perhaps direct to Dibond brushed metal?

Whatever it may be, now you can customize your favorite go-to’s and save them for later.

Name your and save your own recipes! (example: “John’s Favorite Combo” or “My Gallery Prints”)

Does your Lightjet printer apply any sharpening by default? Can it be turned off?2017-10-27T16:34:43-07:00

Yes, we run our LightJet printer with the sharpening feature ON. This is the default setting to ensure your custom hd photo prints and wall art are printed at the highest quality possible. For more information on LightJet and the prints created from it, check out this LightJet FAQ. LightJet Printer

However, if you would rather that we not use this feature, we can easily turn it off upon request. Please contact the ArtisanHD customer service department to specify this request with our LightJet printer and to complete your order. We want to ensure your order is completed exactly as you envision it!

What Is LightJet Printing & Why Isn’t It Offered?2023-12-08T11:17:49-07:00

The term LightJet is often used to describe a digitally made chromogenic print. Unexposed silver-halide (AgX) photographic paper is temporarily fixed on an internal drum. Three digitally controlled lasers simultaneously expose the photo-sensitive emulsion on the paper medium (or back-lit transparency medium) with red, green, and blue laser light. The amount of light from each laser varies to provide specific color and density values for each pixel imaged in the LightJet print.

This type of printing is becoming less and less popular because there are alternatives, like dry lab dye sublimation, that create better photos without the use of AgX paper, harsh chemicals, and LightJet printing technology.

Better Alternatives To LightJet Printing For Photos

LightJet printing is classified as a “wet lab” photo printing method. It’s “wet” in that it uses treated paper and chemical emulsions to get the desired results. While this was cutting-edge a few decades ago, this “wet” process has been surpassed by new technology that delivers even better results while not harming the environment. Alternatives to wet lab LightJet printing include:

  • LightJet PrintDye sublimation printing – Uses heat and pressure to transfer an image onto the desired medium by turning the solid ink into a gas that then permeates the substrate. This is the most common alternative to LightJet printing
  • Inkless Thermal Printing – Uses heat to change the color of the ink on the photo paper.
  • Solid Ink Printing – Ink sticks are heated to a liquid state and applied to the substrate surface.
  • Electrophotography – Uses electrostatic charges and toner particles to affix the image onto the paper.

Why Professional Photo Printers Are Abandoning LightJet Printing

LightJet printing was great for what it was, but with the new alternatives, it’s become clear that it’s an out-of-date technology and bad for the environment compared to new dry lab photo printing techniques.

Compared to dry lab prints, LightJet prints have:

  • Worse color gamut compared to dry lab
  • Less sharp resolution
  • Doesn’t allow for ICC color management
  • Uses chemicals that are bad for the environment
Can a customer get anything printed? Are there any restrictions the image printed?2024-03-27T11:13:21-07:00

At ArtisanHD, we take pride in creating high-quality prints for our customers regardless of the content printed. However, we do have some restrictions on the content of images we reproduce. While it is exceedingly rare, we reserve the right to decline any print job for the following reasons:

  • Legality: We cannot print anything that violates copyright laws or depicts illegal activity.
  • Sensitivity: We avoid reproducing images that are overly sexual (no pornography), violent (no explicit gore), or exploitative towards children (no questionable images).
  • Respecting Artistic Expression: We understand that art can sometimes push boundaries.

If you have an image you’d like printed that might fall into a gray area, we encourage you to contact us directly to discuss it. We’ll work with you to find a solution that respects both your artistic vision and our printing policies.

Our goal is to provide a comfortable and inclusive environment for all our employees and customers, sometimes this means passing on a print job. We appreciate your understanding. For more information on our policies please visit our policy and terms.

What if my print is damaged during shipping?2024-03-27T11:13:30-07:00

Contact us ASAP and keep the box for the carrier’s claim. We’ll replace your print and keep you updated. Report defects or damage by email within 10 days of delivery to avoid waiving your claim. By accepting the print, you acknowledge ArtisanHD fulfilled all requirements.

Can I cancel my order?2024-03-27T11:13:38-07:00

Artisan HD begins work on your print the moment you submit your order so if you cancel withing 24hrs we can refund your money right away.

What’s Artisan HD’s return policy?2024-03-27T11:13:46-07:00

If you’re not 100% satisfied with your prints contact us within 10 days of receiving your order to return the item. We understand that getting the perfect print is important so our team works with you to either send you a reprint up to your standards or simply provide a refund. Though rare, there are instances in which refunds are not available:

  • Low image resolution: Always use the highest resolution image possible and understand resizing a small file won’t improve the quality.
  • User errors: Spelling, grammar or adding adhesives/hardware not designed for the print.
  • Exact monitor match: Color variations will always exist between a monitor and a print, while we can do exact color matching, that requires a custom order.

Note: Artisan HD does pre-print quality checks on all prints and will contact you to address these issues before printing. For more information on our return policy, please read our policy and terms. We always strive to go above and beyond to meet your expectations – just ask our customers!

Can I see a print proof before I order?2024-03-27T11:13:53-07:00

For most print orders, we do not provide print proofs. However, if you need to see color proofs before you purchase, please email us for custom order pricing and instructions.

How long does standard art print delivery take?2024-03-27T11:14:02-07:00

At ArtisanHD, we prioritize delivering high-quality prints to you as quickly as possible. Our standard turnaround time is 10 business days, this allows for added quality control on each print, secure packaging, and shipping to your door. Turnaround times may vary slightly depending on the chosen substrate, we’ll keep you informed throughout the process and provide you with the fastest delivery while maintaining the quality possible. If you’re in the Phoenix-Scottsdale area, you can pick your print up from our office in North Scottsdale at 8970 E Bahia Dr #104, Scottsdale, AZ 85260.

How fast can I get my art prints?2024-03-27T11:00:16-07:00

Artisan HD offers expedited shipping options Priority Overnight and 2-Day delivery if you need your prints right away. For large rush orders or corporate art prints, please contact us directly to discuss logistics and the timing of delivery.

Share your thoughts!

4.86 out of 5 stars

39 reviews

Let us know what you think...

0 reviews with a 1-star rating

There are no reviews with a 1-star rating yet

×

Login

Continue as a Guest

Price Calculator

Effortlessly determine prices for different products, sizes, and options using the calculator below—no need to upload a photo.

Ready to order? Click on the “Upload Your Photo” button below, and proceed to checkout.

Size: Width (in) Height (in)
Print Type:
Mount Type:
Encapsulate Type:
Hanging Type:
Addon Option:
Laminate Type:
Est Cost:

Aspect Ratio Note:
We want to ensure your experience is seamless and transparent. Please be aware that our Price Calculator provides you with estimated costs based on the width and height you enter here. The actual print size may vary due to the aspect ratio of the image you upload.

More

Understanding Aspect Ratio:
Aspect ratio is the proportional relationship between an image's width and height. Think of it as the "shape" of your image. For instance, a common aspect ratio for HD content is 16:9, meaning the width is 16 units for every 9 units of height.

Quality Matters:
Rest assured, we make adjustments to your image according to the aspect ratio to ensure a high-quality print. These adjustments are made with precision and care to deliver the best possible result.

A Minor Difference:
Any variation in print size due to aspect ratio is typically small and should not lead to confusion or frustration. We want you to have a great quality print that matches your expectations.

Thank you for choosing us for your fine art printing needs!

New Product Tab

Here's your new product tab.

Subscribe to our email newsletter & save $10 on your next order of $50 or more!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

ArtisanHD.com Makes It Easy for You to Order Perfect Large-Format Custom Printing Online

Why Choose ArtisanHD?

  • We treat you like a person, not a number. With our dedicated staff of craftspeople, your order receives the personalized attention it deserves.
  • Our customers like us! You don’t have to take our word for it - just read some of our customer reviews.
  • Our top-of-the-line photographic and printing equipment offer both the professional and recreational artist the very best tools, materials & craftsmanship to produce stunning museum-quality masterpieces.
  • Our custom configurator offers unique cropping and scaling functionality along with a print preview so you can see exactly how your artwork will look printed.
  • Work with an award winning team! We are proud recipients of two American Marketing Association Awards. Read More »

ArtisanHD Customer Reviews

As the owner of a small startup company, I looked around The Valley and online for professional high quality printed products. Other solutions always seemed to come with a tradeoff: poor customer service, product size constraints, high pricing and volume, or even bad finish quality.

Working with Mike and his team I was able to produce the high quality unique products at competitive prices that I was looking for without compromise. Their knowledgeable customer service was phenomenal! We were even able to find solutions to some of the more complex printing and finishing requirements I needed. I’ll definitely be working with them again on future projects!

ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Lee D.Lee D., The Art of Lee Davis
I recently sold one of my Digital Art pieces and the team at ArtisanHD have the complete package really sorted out! They are a friendly, client orientated and totally professional team who happen to produce spectacular prints as well! Thanks guys for keeping everyone very happy!
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Dale B.Dale B.
Fantastic staff, fantastic facilities, second to none product quality output. I feel like you're my secret weapon.
Beautiful print work and customer service of the highest order – you'll be so thrilled with how well you're treated, and how they'll go the extra mile to make sure you're happy and satisfied with the final result.
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Denise S.Denise S.
It's rare I find a company today where the customer service, quality and pricing meet most every need I'm looking for. It's even rarer to find those companies where the staff are not only willing to meet those expectations, but surpass them. In a very stressful situation I created for myself, the staff at Artisan went out of their way to help me find a answer to my predicament. Their team worked with me to find a fast solution pulling me out of a situation I knew very few companies would go out of their way to solve. It's those actions I use to choose who I will send my next job. The service was awesome! The quality was awesome! Their staff was Awesome!
Raegan S.
Artisan Colour is the most creative, talented and friendly place to print and mind meld.  I have been satisfied with every experience I have had with them.  Front end to delivery topnotch.  So glad I was directed to them.
Adrienne M.
Simply the best. Great client services, great people, and great products.
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Dan M.Dan M.
When I inadvertently shipped a limited edition print to a customer before signing it, Artisan was quick to have it rerouted back to their facility to resolve my issue. When I then showed up during the holiday season –– right before New Year's Eve –– I was met by no less than the company's president, Doug Bondon, who was genuinely happy to assist me and get my order on its way in a matter of minutes. Folks, this is what topnotch, white glove service really looks like. Outstanding!
Michael M., Your Content Goes Here
Go to Top