Custom Printing Services

(19 customer reviews)

Show your creativity with an entirely custom order. From XL canvas to specially-mounted acrylic prints, we can help make your vision a reality. Some past custom orders include:

  • XL prints up to 10′ high
  • Specialized mounting designs or materials
  • Custom wallpaper or wall wraps
  • Duratrans/backlit transparent film Lightbox prints
  • Router-cut Dibond® brushed metal prints
“Artisan Colour is the most creative, talented and friendly place to print and mind meld.  I have been satisfied with every experience I have had with them.  Front end to delivery topnotch.  So glad I was directed to them.”
Adrienne M.
SKU: custom-printing-services Category: Tags: ,

We Love a Good Challenge.

To better serve our valued clients, we have created a custom order department to fulfill unique printing needs. We currently offer many customizable printing services, available throughout the United States.

Whether you are an independent artist with a vision, an architect needing to print specific materials, or a corporate client looking for quality graphics or signage, our dedicated professionals are here to help. Some of our more popular custom order items are XL prints, custom wallpaper or wall wraps, and specialized mounting designs. View the photo gallery for a few samples of our work.

To find out more about our custom services and products, please upload your artwork and tell us what you have in mind in the form below. Someone from our Custom Order department will be in touch as soon as possible.

Have a custom order in mind?

Step 1: Simply fill out the form below!

And, our skilled Artisans will promptly connect with you to guide you through the seamless process of finalizing your order.

  • Drop files here or
    Max. file size: 50 MB.
    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

    Step 2: Collaborate with our knowledgeable experts to select the perfect print substrate.

    They will provide personalized guidance to ensure your artwork is beautifully showcased on a substrate that complements its unique characteristics.

    You have several options for what to print your artwork on:

    • Chromaluxe or Dibond Metal Prints
    • Acrylic or Plexiglass Prints
    • Custom Canvas Prints
    • Vinyl Banners & Poster Prints
    • Photopaper Prints
    • Watercolor Prints
    • Sintra Board Prints
    • Backlit Prints

    Each of these options has its own advantages or reasons they are right for you. When choosing a medium for your art you’ll want to consider things like:

    • Where the art will be hung – some mediums will do better when kept indoors while others can withstand the rigors of the outdoors. Canvas and photopapers will typically do better inside while metal and acrylic prints can be used indoors or outdoors.
    • Commercial applications – if art will be used for a commercial application, like at an office or place of business, certain types of prints may be preferred because they are easier to clean or have minimal upkeep. For example, metal prints are preferred in medical settings because they are non-porous and easy to clean.
    • Personal preference – when you want your art to look and feel a certain way, the medium you select can make all the difference. Canvas prints or framed photo prints are popular options for photographers and artists because they are preferred by their customers and give your art the look you’re aiming for.

    Step 3: Determine the ideal sizing for your custom print.

    Our expert Artisans will assist you in choosing dimensions that enhance the visual impact of your artwork, creating a stunning and personalized piece that exceeds your expectations.

    Custom sizing is available on custom prints up to 10′ x 10′. Applications like wallpapers or extralarge sizes are best done on canvas prints or on special photopapers while all the mediums can have custom sizing specified in the ordering process.

    • Smallest prints are 1 sqft.
    • Largest prints are 10′ x 10′
    • Most mediums can accommodate any size requested

    On top of the size of the art print, you can also choose custom shapes beyond square or rectangle including:

    • Circular
    • Oval
    • Heart-shaped
    • Diamond-shaped

    Not sure what medium, size, or shape is right for you? Let us know what you want to create and we can help you decide.

    Step 4: Print & Deliver

    Once you’ve uploaded and fine-tuned your artwork with our expert guidance, your order will transition to the printing phase. Sit back and relax as we bring your vision to life, with the final masterpiece delivered straight to your doorstep.

    Examples of ArtisanHD Custom Printing Services

    Custom Mounts

    Custom Printing Services Mounting

    Special Materials

    automobile printed direct to acrylic plexiglass mounted diamond plate metal

    Custom Cuts

    Dibond router cut Custom Printing Services

    XL Prints

    Large Format Canvas

    Wallpaper

    Retail Wall Wraps Grand Canyon University Arena Team Shop

    Backlit Prints

    Duratrans Aspens

    Have questions about our custom printing services?

    Check out our helpful FAQs in the tab above, call us directly at 1 (877) 948-0009, or email us at Support@ArtisanHD.com.

    FAQs

    How To Order Customized Artwork With Preset Print Recipes2023-09-29T10:40:19-07:00

    At Artisan HD we pride ourselves in giving you options. Virtually any medium, size, ink or other custom configuration is available to you on our site. The problem with so many options for printing your art is that it can be difficult to know where to start. Is canvas worth it? Will a metal print fit my idea? Is acrylic the way to go?

    We know that having a lot of options can sometimes be a bit overwhelming. Especially when deciphering how to best customize your own artwork so we’ve created Print Recipes to simplify the customization process.

    Choose from one of our three professionally crafted preset recipes within the upload configurator or customize and save your own. Your go-to favorites will always remain stored under “Recipes” when logged into your account. Designed for a simpler ordering and checkout process!

    print recipes customize artwork artisanhd

    ArtisanHD’s Preset Recipes

    emerging artist customize recipes

    Entry-Level: “Emerging Artist”

    ImageTech Photo Gloss, 1/8” Acrylic, Vinyl Encapsulation & Sintra Museum-Back

    Let your inner artist shine by printing your photographs and artwork with impeccable high-sheen and rich colors. Your print will then be applied to the back of a 1/8” thick crystal clear plexiglass sheet, complete with an affordable lightweight protective vinyl barrier and Sintra museum-back for clean and easy hanging.

    customize print recipes college grad artisanhd

    Mid-Grade: “The College Grad”

    Austin Jet Silver Paper, 1/4” Acrylic, Sintra Encapsulation & Black Sintra Museum-Back

    Graduate your artwork to the next level by creating striking, three-dimensional pearlescent metallic photo prints with a deeper-than-glass effect. The ¼” thick layer of acrylic paired with lightweight 3mm Sintra provides your images with professional protection and exceptional clarity. The black Sintra museum-back will have black painted edges and is easy to hang.

    customize print recipes pro artisanhd

    High-End: “The PRO”

    ImageTech Photo Gloss, 1/8” TruLife Acrylic, White Dibond Encapsulation & Black Aluminum Museum-Back

    Create pro-level gallery-quality artwork with our top-selling HD photo paper and anti-reflective acrylic combo! Add depth, and give your photos a true-to-life appearance that other acrylic products simply cannot match. Protect your investment & ensure durability with our professional Dibond metal encapsulation finish. We supply this version with a black powder-coated aluminum museum-back frame and Z-clip for easy hanging.

    Customize & Save Your Own Print Recipes

    print recipes customize your own artisanhd

    Do you have a favorite print combo that you’re constantly reaching for?

    Austin Jet Silver Paper mounted to 1/4? plexiglass acrylic? Austin Jet Silver Paper and Trulife (non-glare) Acrylic? Or perhaps direct to Dibond brushed metal?

    Whatever it may be, now you can customize your favorite go-to’s and save them for later.

    Name your and save your own recipes! (example: “John’s Favorite Combo” or “My Gallery Prints”)

    I want to print big – how big should I go?2023-09-29T10:47:45-07:00

    The most common ratio in size for the art to take up is between 25% to 50% of the available wall space, however, there are no strict rules so you can print as big or small as you want. When you’re trying to decide how big you want your print, keep in mind interior design principles and how well a photo will look when it’s enlarged.

    Interior Designers Best Practices With Extra-Large Format Prints

    Balance Proportion Of Art & Space

    You want your art to fill the space and be noticed but you don’t want to overwhelm the wall (unless that’s the look you’re going for) so find the correct balance between available wall space and your art print. A common interior design guideline is to balance the blank space with art by leaving about 50% to 75% of the wall as blank space and using the remaining 25% to 50% for the art.

    Visual Impact

    How much of a visual impact do you want your art to have? The larger the print the more of a focal point it will be for the room whereas average size or small prints better blend into the wall and the surroundings together becoming part of the decor without dominating it.

    Furniture Considerations For Prints

    Every room has furniture in it and the larger the art piece the better it should blend in with the decor and not feel disconnected from the design. Keep in mind you’ll also want some space between the prints and the furniture in the room so if you want an extra-large print, make sure it matches the furniture and doesn’t butt up against it.

    Wall Shape

    Consider the shape of the wall when figuring out the print size. For tall, narrow walls, you may want to use vertically oriented art to fill the space appropriately. Similarly, for wide, horizontal walls, horizontally oriented art can work well.

    How Does The Image File Impact The Size Of the Art Print?

    Image Resolution

    Image resolution refers to the amount of detail (data) an image holds, typically measured in pixels per inch (PPI) or dots per inch (DPI). Higher-resolution images have more pixels and can be enlarged without losing as much detail. For high-quality print, a resolution of 300 DPI is often recommended, but the specific DPI requirement may vary depending on the type of print and viewing distance.

    Image Format

    Image formats like JPEG, PNG, TIFF, and RAW have different characteristics. While JPEG is a compressed format that can lead to some loss of quality, TIFF and RAW formats are uncompressed and offer higher image quality. PNG is lossless but may have larger file sizes. For extra-large prints, we suggest using TIFF, RAW, or PNG. JPEGs can work but the more they are compressed to save data space, the worse the quality of the image is when it’s enlarged.

    Image Content

    The more complex or detailed an image is the harder it may be to enlarge. Photographs with lots of fine textures or subtle gradients can be challenging to enlarge without losing all that detail.

    Printer Quality

    High-end commercial-grade printers are the best at printing extra-large format files. They allow for the use of better quality paper and have more advanced inks and cutting-edge technology that helps capture the grandeur of a large print.

    How To Determine The Right Size

    So you have this amazing image and you want to cover your walls with it. But how can you determine how big can you really print? At ArtisanHD, we make it easy. Check out our handy print sizing guide to get an idea of how your photo or artwork will look on your wall in your extra-large size. Below are some common print sizes, but you can make the size completely custom in our Configurator. It will also tell you if your file size is large enough to print big while maintaining a sharp, vibrant resolution.

    Print big!

    Frequently Asked Printing Questions - Print Big Size Guide

    What’s The Difference Between Vinyl Wallpaper and Traditional Wallpaper?2023-10-13T10:46:04-07:00

    When deciding on wall coverings, interior designers have two different choices: vinyl wallpaper and traditional wallpaper. The option they select depends on both the practical and aesthetic needs of a room. Vinyl and traditional wallpaper differ in four key ways: material used, finished appearance, long-term durability, installation methods, and total cost.

    Material

    The biggest difference between these two types of wallpaper is the material they are made out of. Because it uses natural fibers, paper wallpaper has been around for centuries (traced back to the 16th century) and it’s only with relatively recent advances in material science that materials like vinyl have become a preferred option.

    Vinyl Wallpaper: Vinyl, also known as polyvinyl chloride (PVC) is a strong synthetic material that is naturally water, scratch, and fade resistant. Smooth to the touch, vinyl is a great alternative to traditional wallpaper.

    Traditional Wallpaper: A heavy-duty paper or paper composite that includes natural fibers (such as fabrics or grasscloth). Due to this, textures can also be added to the wallpaper if desired.

    Which is better?

    It depends on your intended use and the planned lifespan of your wallpaper. Vinyl as a material has several advantages over paper but may not be right for every application.

    Finished Appearance

    With either choice, you’ll be able to get a range of finishes that suit your needs. While vinyl is often glossier and traditional paper is matte, you can choose options that increase or decrease the glossiness depending on the look you’re going for.

    Vinyl Wallpaper: Vinyl as a material can be glossy or semi-glossy due to the synthetic fibers’ reflectiveness. This makes it great at mimicking various textures and patterns (such as wood grain or stone). It should also be noted a more matte finish is also possible with vinyl should you want a flat appearance.

    Traditional Wallpaper: Wallpaper usually has a matte or satin finish with a wide range of textures available to choose from, however, it’s possible to purchase wallpaper that has a semi-glossy appearance.

    Which is better?

    This is a subjective choice for interior designers with some choosing a glossier or more matte option based on their taste.

    Long-term Durability

    The importance of durability will vary with the application and planned lifespan of the wall covering, however, vinyl is naturally much more durable than a paper-based option.

    Vinyl Wallpaper: The most durable of the two options, vinyl wallpaper is stain-resistant, resists moisture damage, and is scratch-resistant making it better for high-traffic areas or rooms that can be subject to high humidity (like bathrooms or kitchens).

    Traditional Wallpaper: Paper-based wallpapers are more susceptible to water damage, staining, and abrasion damage making it better for lower-traffic places like bedrooms or living rooms.

    Which is better?

    Vinyl is vastly more durable and lasts longer than paper. So if durability is your primary concern, you should always choose vinyl or paper wallpaper.

    Installation Methods

    The installation process is approximately the same with the caveat that they each have aspects that can make them easier or harder to install. Both vinyl and traditional wallpaper can come with self-adhesive options.

    Vinyl Wallpaper: Installed just like traditional wallpaper (with paste or self-adhesive) but using a specially designed paste that securely adheres the vinyl to the wall. It should be noted that because vinyl wallpaper is thicker it can be a little more challenging to work with throughout the installation.

    Traditional Wallpaper: Add paste to the back of the wallpaper or expose the self-adhesive backing and position it onto the wall. Because it’s paper-based it’s easier to work with but is also more prone to accidental pokes and scrapes as you’re working with it.

    Which is better?

    Paper-based wallpaper is seen as slightly easier to install because it’s more lightweight and therefore easier to handle. It should be noted that no special skills are required for vinyl wallpaper installation so the added difficulty shouldn’t be a major factor.

    Cost

    Your cost will depend on the total square footage and what’s printed on your wallpaper. Vinyl wallpaper is more likely to have custom-printed images on it while traditional wallpaper has a variety of preselected patterns and textures.

    Vinyl Wallpaper: Vinyl is more expensive per square foot than paper-based wallpaper. However, due to its long-term durability, vinyl wallpaper can also be seen as more cost-effective over the course of time.

    Traditional Wallpaper: The most cost-conscious way to cover a wall, traditional wallpaper is slightly cheaper per square foot but provides none of the advantages of vinyl.

    Which is better?

    Paper-based wallpaper is definitively cheaper. That said, vinyl’s customization options and long-term durability should factor into your cost-to-benefit ratio as an interior designer.

    Does ArtisanHD Sell Both Vinyl and Traditional Wallpaper?

    Yes! ArtisanHD offers custom self-adhesive vinyl wallpaper and traditional commercial wallpaper. Show off your favorite memories, and make your space entirely personalized.

    Create a larger-than-life design, mural, or business branding. Or, complete your mancave, fan cave, bedrooms, or even the garage with ArtisanHD’s high-definition custom wallpaper.

    We also offer traditional, commercially-rated wallpaper. Traditional wallpaper is applied with brushes and paste. Wallpaper comes rolled, ready for hanging. We do recommend hiring a professional for this type of installation.

    Check out our Custom Wallpaper Product Page for more information.

    How do I select the finish on my custom photo canvas prints?2023-06-23T11:21:57-07:00

    Finishing styles for custom photo canvas prints

    ArtisanHD allows you to upload your image, proof your print, and order a canvas print online with our Configurator. Alternatively, you can reach out to us directly for consultation on how to get the optimal print.

    Our Configurator has an easy-to-use preview and order flow:

    1. Choose between a single print or a cluster of prints

    Do you want one big print or do you want your photo broken into smaller prints? Most canvas prints we sell are in one piece, however, depending on the resolution and style you’re looking for, a cluster of the same photo can be a great choice as well.

    2. Upload your photo

    We prefer an uncompressed .tif, flattened (no layers) minimum resolution 150DPI at full print size, 300DPI if possible. 8bit, with Adobe RGB98 as the color profile. (NO gray scales) However, .jpg and sRGB are also acceptable.

    Additional file types that are accepted include: .jpeg, .tif, .tiff, .psd, and .psb. A 1/8” bleed is required on all images and any Signatures / Logos should be at minimum 1/2” away from any edges.

    3. Preview your print & select canvas size

    You’ll see a couch with your canvas print hung over it. You can also swap out the couch (72″x32″) displayed with other furniture such as:

    • Chair (24″x18″)
    • Nightstand (18″x22″)
    • Queen-sized bed (68″x43″)
    • Bar table (76″x48″)

    This gives you an idea of the size and scale of the canvas for the room you want to hang your print in. If you’ve uploaded a low-resolution photo you’ll see warnings for that during this process. See the above requirements and preferred photo resolutions for the highest-quality prints.

    4. Select glossy, semi-gloss, or matte

    Most of the canvas prints we sell are semi-gloss, as they combine the best of both glossy and matte canvas finishes, but depending on where you’ll be displaying the print (in lower or higher than average light) you may consider a glossy or matte finish.

    5. Choose subframe thickness

    Select one of three options, 9/16″, 1 1/2″, or 2″ thick subframe. Each subframe is custom-made using quality wood and materials, so no matter your choice you’ll get a sturdy subframe that will last for decades.

    6. Choose finishing options (all free)

    • Mirrored Gallery Wrap – The most common option.
    • Black Gallery Wrap – Best for darker images
    • White Gallery Wrap – Best for brighter images

    7. Add hanging accessories (optional)

    If you’re going to hang your canvas directly on the wall, you can choose to add a wire or sawtooth hangar to come preinstalled on the back of the subframe.

    8. 3-D preview

    Take one last look at a 3-D render of your canvas and if it looks good – get it delivered in days!

    What’s The Difference Between Wallpaper, Wall Wraps or Wall Murals?2023-09-22T11:10:21-07:00

    The main difference between traditional wallpaper and wall wraps or murals is that wall wraps and murals are typically printed using advanced printing presses that can use ultra-durable ink and allow for greater detail for image fidelity.

    Artisan HD makes it possible for you to use digital technology to create custom vinyl wall wraps and custom photo murals for personal use in your home or office. We print images from your favorite photographs or art in large format, on self-adhesive vinyl. The result is a stunning high definition art display in beautiful, vivid colors. It’s a very unique way to decorate.

    Ideas For Wall Wraps Or Murals As Decoration

    Anywhere there’s a wall there’s an opportunity to add a wall wrap or mural that transforms the space. When to use wall wraps — consider factors such as the size of the space, the lighting conditions, the existing decor, and the intended message or atmosphere you want to convey.

    Business and Retail

    • Impactful Branding: Logos, mission statements, brand colors, or on-brand art as wallpaper is an easy way to reinforce your brand in your office or retail space.
    • Product Displays That Pop: Catch customer’s attention, engage their eyes, and showcase products with large graphic wraps that take up an entire wall.
    • Inspirational Quotes: Keep the team motivated and customers inspired by incorporating motivational quotes or messages that resonate with your business’ values.
    • Themed Environments: Design your space to match your industry or create a specific atmosphere that aligns with your brand identity.

    Educational & Institutional

    • Classroom Wall Coverings: Things like maps, timelines, and diagrams enhance a classroom’s decor by covering wall space that is otherwise unoccupied.
    • Museum Exhibits: Add to the immersive experience of a museum exhibit by providing additional context and visuals with wall wraps.
    • Healthcare Settings: Create soothing and calming environments with nature-themed wall wraps in waiting rooms or patient areas.

    Special Event Decor

    • Photo Booths: Custom photo booth backdrops for events help make the moments memorable and special.
    • Themed Events: Enhance the atmosphere of your event with themed wall wraps that match the occasion.
    • Step and Repeat: Feature sponsor logos or event branding on a wall wrap used as a step-and-repeat backdrop for red carpet events or tradeshows.

    Restaurants & Cafes

    • Menu Displays: Showcase your menu in a creative and dynamic way using wall wraps.
    • Culinary Themes: Decorate your space with food-themed wall wraps that reflect your cuisine’s style.
    • Ambiance Enhancement: Use wall wraps to set the mood and ambiance of your establishment, whether it’s cozy, vibrant, or elegant.

    Home Decor & Interior Design

    • Feature Wall: Create a focal point in a room by applying a wall wrap with a captivating design or an artistic mural.
    • Nature Themes: Bring the outdoors inside with wall wraps depicting landscapes, forests, oceans, or cityscapes.
    • 3D Illusions: Use wall wraps to create the illusion of depth, adding a unique dimension to your space.
    • Kids’ Rooms: Choose playful and colorful wall wraps featuring favorite characters, animals, or fantasy themes.

    This material can also be used for vehicle wraps. The “decals” on race cars, buses, and trucks, for example, are some of the commercial uses of custom wall wraps. These wraps are printed in high definition using fade-resistant UV Eco Solvent-protected inks.

    What Defines A Custom Print As Large Format?2023-09-22T10:47:42-07:00

    Large format prints are reprints of digital photographs, graphics, or art produced on specially designed wide-format printers. Most printers consider anything over thirty-six inches as a “large format.”

    What Art Mediums Are Best For Large Prints?

    Advanced large format printers can print on a variety of mediums including:

    • Canvas
    • Acrylic
    • Photo paper
    • Vinyl
    • Metal

    The best for a given application depends on your budget, intended use, and personal taste. All of these mediums offer different advantages and aesthetics and will work great in most applications so it’s difficult to to say one is definitively better than the others.

    Canvas and metal are the premium options with canvas being the preferred option for the home, whereas metal is used in public spaces. Acrylic, photo paper, and vinyl are more affordable options and can be used for similar applications. Acrylic, vinyl, and metal are considered more durable but for most applications, outside of heavily publically trafficked areas, all of these mediums are a durable option.

    What Types Of Printers Are Used To Make Very Large Prints?

    The best large format printing is done using cutting-edge inkjet printers. These printers not only accommodate larger sizes but also use advanced inks to render detailed and exact replicas of the original. The inks are specially formulated to provide the perfect color, the right amount of luster, fade resistance, and scratch resistance.

    What Are The Most Common Large Format Print Applications?

    You can order extra large format prints online for several residential or commercial applications. At ArtisanHD you can order prints anywhere from thirty-six inches in width to over one hundred inches in length. The most common applications include:

    • Posters
    • Vinyl Banners
    • Murals
    • Wallpaper
    • Signage
    • Billboards
    • Wall Hangings
    • Window Art
    Custom Large Format Plexi
    How Do High Definition Images Translate Into Large Format HD Prints?2023-10-06T11:02:55-07:00

    Whether or not you can turn a photo or graphic into a large format high-definition print depends on both the pixels per square inch (PPI) of the digital image and the dots per square inch (DPI) of the printed image. While these terms are often used interchangeably, it’s important to understand that you can’t have one without the other for large-format prints. A lower PPI becomes blurry when enlarged and a lower DPI has poor image fidelity.

    In the world of digital photography and printing, resolution determines quality. In digital photography, itty-bitty squares called pixels make up the photo image we see (PPI). The more pixels a camera has, the more image information it can receive. Therefore, higher numbered pixel cameras produce higher resolution photographs (DPI), leading to a clear, crisp HD print.

    What’s A Good PPI Resolution To Create Large HD Photos?

    For reference, the typical PPI of an image you see on the internet is about 72 PPI and would look terrible if it was blown up to a large size when printed. For an image that needs to be enlarged and keep its details, a 300 PPI is best. However, depending on the image and final size you can use between 150 – 300 PPI and still get good results.

    That’s why the preferred photo formats are uncompressed and typically larger in size. When files are uncompressed you can determine the PPI when demosaicing and rasterizing the image in processing. The best file formats include:

    • TIFF
    • PNG
    • RAW

    When converting a physical photo into a larger format the same holds true while scanning a photo. Uncompressed file formats that allow for the highest PPI will produce the best enlargements. Photographs with higher resolution can more easily be reprinted into large-format high-definition prints. That’s why we include a scanning service as part of what we offer. When you order custom HD prints online, our scanners turn your photos into high-resolution images.

    What’s The Best DPI Available For HD Printing Of Large Format Photos?

    HD printers at commercial print shops, such as Artisan HD, can print between 300 DPI and 600 DPI. 300 DPI prints are fine for most applications, even large format, while 600 DPI prints are for museum quality prints or large format prints with an extreme amount of detail. The printers at Artisan HD are advanced enough to accommodate between 300 – 600 DPI and we can consult with you on what would be best for your particular application.

    Our printing company is able to produce customized large-format prints in HD because of our printers’ capacities. Whereas cameras and images are made up of pixels, the printer creates high-definition canvas prints (also high-definition plexi and acrylic prints) on three different machines using a measurement called DPI (dots per inch). The higher the DPI, the higher the definition of the reprint.

    extra large prints - HD prints - ArtisanHD shop

    Our printers boast the highest DPI available. In plain language, that means the high definition giclée prints, wall murals, and the custom HD prints online that you order from us are crystal clear in color and incredibly sharp in their appearance. When you take advantage of our printing service, you feel you are living in the moment of the photo. It’s an extraordinary experience!

    Why Use Vinyl For Extra Large Format Signage?2023-11-02T11:28:15-07:00

    Vinyl combines the affordability of photo paper with the durability of metal and acrylic prints, making it the most popular option for extra-large prints. Vinyl prints can be used indoors or outdoors, and come with a variety of hanging options so they can be used for almost any signage application.

    What Are The Finishing Options For Vinyl Signage?

    Depending on your application you may want different finishing options to make it easier to hang or display your vinyl sign. Options include:

    • Grommets – Perfect for hanging your sign with a string tied through the metal grommet holes in the corner.
    • Hemming – Folds the edges of the banner back on itself to add an extra stiffness to the edge – can use tape or thread for sewn edges.
    • Pole Pockets – Similar to hemming but with a larger fold to create a space for a pole to slide through.

    You can also choose no finishing options and opt for an adhesive back for car wraps, wallpaper, and window clings.

    Why Is Vinyl A Durable Option For Signage?

    The most commonly used type of vinyl material for signage is a heavy-weight vinyl known as PVC (polyvinyl chloride). Additionally, ArtisanHD’s custom large format banners use a PVC material with an interwoven core. This material is waterproof, fade-resistant, and is very strong and durable.

    What Are The Most Popular Uses For Vinyl Banners & Signage?

    Although vinyl banners have long been used commercially, they can also be used in your home or office. Some great ways to use full-color banners are:

    • custom vinyl bannersFundraisers or Banquets
    • Special events
    • Birthdays
    • Anniversaries
    • Parties
    • Holidays
    • Store signage
    • Wayfinding
    • Construction site signage
    • Car wraps
    • Wallpaper
    Do you outsource any part of the high-quality photo printing process?2023-10-20T11:28:18-07:00

    No, we never outsource any part of our process. This ensures consistent quality and the best possible results for photo printing.

    High-quality photo printing in high definition requires technology resources and skill that is more uncommon than you may think. Artisan HD has the latest technology and the eyes of skilled craftsmen to produce the best quality prints possible.

    high resolution high quality photo printing flowers

    Digital Printing Technology Needed For High-Quality Prints

    Many online art and photo print retailers will cut corners and save costs by using outdated or unsustainable printing techniques. We don’t outsource any of our work because we can’t rely on the quality of work we’d receive back. A litany of printing technologies is needed to create truly exceptional prints for our customers.

    • Digital Printers: To get the highest definition and detail, high-end digital printers such as inkjet or laser printers are used.
    • Color Profiling and Management Tools: To ensure color consistency on any substrates, tools like spectrometers or prepress software are needed.
    • Image Editing Software: To convert image files or enhance images, software such as Adobe Photoshop makes the image perfect before printing.
    • Inks and Toner: To get the longest lasting and highest definition prints, high-quality inks and toners that deliver accurate and consistent colors.
    • Quality Control and Inspection Systems: To ensure the quality and fidelity of the prints, including color spectrophotometers and densitometers.
    • UV Curing Systems: To cure inks and coatings on certain substrates, especially in wide-format and digital printing.
    • Environmental and Safety Technologies: To maintain safe and eco-friendlier printing practices, we use a dry-lab printing process.
    • Digital Proofing Systems: To create accurate proofs before final printing, ensuring quality control.

    Unparalleled Experience And Skill Of Artisan HD Team

    Our experienced craftspeople keep an eagle eye on every step of the process – from scanning your photo into a high-resolution digital file to printing your photo on the highest quality medium, direct digital printing, gallery quality mounting, and finally, carefully packing your mounted print to avoid damage during shipping.

    Your custom order stays with Artisans all the way from order through delivery. This is how we maintain high-definition, high-quality photo printing. Budget photo printers will often use outdated printing technology, with no human quality assurance, and will produce inferior photo prints.

    Why custom printing on acrylic?2023-11-17T10:46:18-07:00

    When printing a museum-quality art print you have three basic choices in the medium:

    • Acrylic
    • Metal
    • Canvas

    It’s important to note that the choice of medium ultimately depends on the artist’s or collector’s preferences and the specific requirements of the artwork or display location.

    The most important and commonly considered art print qualities in selecting the right medium include:

    • Durability – Consider where it will be hung, the expected longevity, and other environmental factors.
    • Color vibrancy – Some mediums make the colors pop more than others so bright and diverse colors may be more appropriate for some mediums and not others.
    • Image sharpness – Depending on how important the high-definition of an image is will help you choose the right medium.
    • Customizability – For those looking for unique shapes or looks, traditional art prints won’t be a good option.

    Advantages Of Acrylic Over Other Mediums

    So, knowing some of the medium factors to consider, let’s compare how acrylic stacks up against the other mediums.

    Canvas vs. Acrylic Prints

    There is no question that if you want a traditional-looking art print, canvas is the obvious choice. Throughout history, canvas has been a popular choice for painters and artists. However, modern acrylic prints offer a few key advantages over canvas:

    • More durable than canvas over time
    • Easier to clean (wipe it down)
    • Better colors and sharpness of prints
    • More lightweight

    If these qualities are important to you, you should choose acrylic over canvas.

    Metal vs. Acrylic Prints

    Metal and acrylic prints share many qualities such as being more durable than canvas, the ability to print either directly onto the substrate or onto photo paper mounted onto the substrate, and being easy to clean. That said, there are some differences between them that may give the edge to acrylic depending on what you’re looking for:

    • Added depth and dimension of prints
    • Easier to cut out for customized shapes
    • More lightweight

    In many ways, metal is comparable to acrylic prints though there are some key differences that you should consider when choosing between the two.

    Why Artists Prefer Acrylic For Art & Photo Prints

    Digital printing on acrylic is a great alternative to printing on regular photographic paper or other mediums. Acrylic printing has a lustrous glossy finish, which not only adds to the contemporary look, but also brings out a depth and clarity to your photos that are incomparable.

    Direct to Acrylic Prints, Printing on AcrylicSpecially treated, this professional process ensures that your photos will last a lifetime. The mounting process we use also protects your photos from humidity and sunlight, (although you should be careful not to expose them to direct sunlight or high humidity conditions).

    Professional printing on acrylic lends a very contemporary look to the final product. It brings the fine art of photography to a whole new level of modern art. We frequently recommend acrylic mounted photos for displaying modern works of fine art and photography.

    Share your thoughts!

    5 out of 5 stars

    19 reviews

    Let us know what you think...

    0 reviews with a 2-star rating

    There are no reviews with a 2-star rating yet

    ×

    Login

    Continue as a Guest

    Price Calculator

    Effortlessly determine prices for different products, sizes, and options using the calculator below—no need to upload a photo.

    Ready to order? Click on the “Upload Your Photo” button below, and proceed to checkout.

    Size: Width (in) Height (in)
    Print Type:
    Mount Type:
    Encapsulate Type:
    Hanging Type:
    Addon Option:
    Laminate Type:
    Est Cost:

    Aspect Ratio Note:
    We want to ensure your experience is seamless and transparent. Please be aware that our Price Calculator provides you with estimated costs based on the width and height you enter here. The actual print size may vary due to the aspect ratio of the image you upload.

    More

    Understanding Aspect Ratio:
    Aspect ratio is the proportional relationship between an image's width and height. Think of it as the "shape" of your image. For instance, a common aspect ratio for HD content is 16:9, meaning the width is 16 units for every 9 units of height.

    Quality Matters:
    Rest assured, we make adjustments to your image according to the aspect ratio to ensure a high-quality print. These adjustments are made with precision and care to deliver the best possible result.

    A Minor Difference:
    Any variation in print size due to aspect ratio is typically small and should not lead to confusion or frustration. We want you to have a great quality print that matches your expectations.

    Thank you for choosing us for your fine art printing needs!

    New Product Tab

    Here's your new product tab.

    Subscribe to our email newsletter & save $10 on your next order of $50 or more!

    • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

    ArtisanHD.com Makes It Easy for You to Order Perfect Large-Format Custom Printing Online

    Why Choose ArtisanHD?

    • We treat you like a person, not a number. With our dedicated staff of craftspeople, your order receives the personalized attention it deserves.
    • Our customers like us! You don’t have to take our word for it - just read some of our customer reviews.
    • Our top-of-the-line photographic and printing equipment offer both the professional and recreational artist the very best tools, materials & craftsmanship to produce stunning museum-quality masterpieces.
    • Our custom configurator offers unique cropping and scaling functionality along with a print preview so you can see exactly how your artwork will look printed.
    • Work with an award winning team! We are proud recipients of two American Marketing Association Awards. Read More »

    ArtisanHD Customer Reviews

    As the owner of a small startup company, I looked around The Valley and online for professional high quality printed products. Other solutions always seemed to come with a tradeoff: poor customer service, product size constraints, high pricing and volume, or even bad finish quality.

    Working with Mike and his team I was able to produce the high quality unique products at competitive prices that I was looking for without compromise. Their knowledgeable customer service was phenomenal! We were even able to find solutions to some of the more complex printing and finishing requirements I needed. I’ll definitely be working with them again on future projects!

    ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Lee D.Lee D., The Art of Lee Davis
    I recently sold one of my Digital Art pieces and the team at ArtisanHD have the complete package really sorted out! They are a friendly, client orientated and totally professional team who happen to produce spectacular prints as well! Thanks guys for keeping everyone very happy!
    ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Dale B.Dale B.
    Fantastic staff, fantastic facilities, second to none product quality output. I feel like you're my secret weapon.
    Beautiful print work and customer service of the highest order – you'll be so thrilled with how well you're treated, and how they'll go the extra mile to make sure you're happy and satisfied with the final result.
    ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Denise S.Denise S.
    It's rare I find a company today where the customer service, quality and pricing meet most every need I'm looking for. It's even rarer to find those companies where the staff are not only willing to meet those expectations, but surpass them. In a very stressful situation I created for myself, the staff at Artisan went out of their way to help me find a answer to my predicament. Their team worked with me to find a fast solution pulling me out of a situation I knew very few companies would go out of their way to solve. It's those actions I use to choose who I will send my next job. The service was awesome! The quality was awesome! Their staff was Awesome!
    Raegan S.
    Artisan Colour is the most creative, talented and friendly place to print and mind meld.  I have been satisfied with every experience I have had with them.  Front end to delivery topnotch.  So glad I was directed to them.
    Adrienne M.
    Simply the best. Great client services, great people, and great products.
    ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Dan M.Dan M.
    When I inadvertently shipped a limited edition print to a customer before signing it, Artisan was quick to have it rerouted back to their facility to resolve my issue. When I then showed up during the holiday season –– right before New Year's Eve –– I was met by no less than the company's president, Doug Bondon, who was genuinely happy to assist me and get my order on its way in a matter of minutes. Folks, this is what topnotch, white glove service really looks like. Outstanding!
    Michael M., Your Content Goes Here
    Go to Top