Plexiglass Acrylic Face Mounting

Starting at $36.43 per sq. ft.

(25 customer reviews)

Choose from one of three HD photo papers with plexiglass acrylic face mounting to display your photo prints with unparalleled color and clarity. Looking for Common Size Pricing? CLICK HERE!

  • 1/8″ or 1/4″ acrylic available
  • Framer’s grade UV stabilized
  • Choose from 3 HD photo papers
  • Interacts beautifully with light
  • Unmatched detail and durability
SKU: plexiglass-acrylic-face-mounting Category: Tag:

Stunning Archival Rated Photo Prints

This is one of our most popular print types, and once you see the results, you’ll understand why. After laser printing / continuous tone exposure, we apply your selected HD photo print to the back of a crystal clear 1/8″ or 1/4″ acrylic plexiglass sheet, which gives your print a richer, deeper-than-glass effect.

Choose from 3 Premium HD Photo Papers

To ensure the highest quality print, we only recommend the following photo papers be second-surface mounted (mounted to the backside of clear acrylic using an optically clear adhesive):

Note: FujiFlex cannot be second-surface salon-mounted to acrylic due to edge-curl.

Fuji Matte & Fuji Luster have a soft texture which diffuses glare. However, this texture results in silvering, which mean thousands of tiny bubbles appear on the print when mounted under acrylic. For this reason, we only offer mounting as first-surface (on top) to rigid boards like Sintra, Dibond, or Infinity Board.

“I love the plexi/acrylic glass mounting option combined with the Fuji crystal paper! The prints are museum quality.”

Marisa H.

Hanging & Finishing Options

Your HD photo print is mounted second-surface (behind the piece of 1/8″ or 1/4″ acrylic plexiglass).

  • We recommend a Museum Mount (no standoffs) for most prints, unless you are okay with the hardware showing in the corners of your image.
  • A Salon Mount adds a 2” clear border around your image (added to your selected print size). This is similar in style to the direct print method.
    • You can choose to add a Museum Back, giving the image a floating effect and allowing the wall color to shine through the 2” clear perimeter.
    • Alternatively, you can add our 1″ stainless steel standoff mounting system for a clean, modern look.

Note: Aluminum Museum Back option is hung with an aluminum wall cleat, also known as a “Z Hanger”.

Salon Mount w/ Museum Back

Acrylic Print Salon Border

Salon Mount w/ Stainless Steel Standoffs

Salon Mount with Standoffs

Full Bleed w/ Stainless Steel Standoffs

acrylic prints fullbleed plexi standoffs

Aluminum Museum Back

Aluminum Museum Back Hanging

Encapsulation

Encapsulated Acrylic Corner

NEW Black Museum Back

blk sintra MB 1200x1200 1

NEW White Museum Back

white sintra MB 1200x1200 1

Not sure what your Plexiglass Acrylic Face-Mounted print will look like? Try a sample print today!

Order Print Samples!
Order Print Samples!

Have Questions About Our Plexiglass Acrylic Face-Mounted HD Photo Prints?

Check out our helpful FAQs in the FAQs tab above, call us directly at 1 (877) 948-0009 or email us at Support@ArtisanHD.com.

FAQs

How to Customize your Artwork with “Print Recipes”2019-06-12T11:35:49-07:00

We know that having a lot of options can sometimes be a bit overwhelming. Especially when deciphering how to best customize your own artwork with all of our various print products and styling options. This is why we’ve implemented our brand new Print Recipes functionality!

Choose from one of our three professionally crafted preset recipes within the upload configurator or customize and save your own. Your go-to favorites will always remain stored under “Recipes” when logged into your account. Designed for a simpler ordering and checkout process!

print recipes configurator artisanhd

ArtisanHD’s Preset Recipes

Entry-Level: “Emerging Artist”  emerging artist customize recipes

Fuji Gloss, 1/8” Acrylic, Vinyl Encapsulation & Wood Museum-Back

Let your inner artist shine by printing your photographs and artwork with impeccable high-sheen and rich colors. Your print will then be applied to the back of an 1/8” thick crystal clear plexiglass sheet, complete with an affordable lightweight protective vinyl barrier and wooden museum-back for clean and easy hanging.

 

 

customize print recipes college grad artisanhdMid-Grade: “The College Grad”

Kodak Metallic, 1/4” Acrylic, Sintra Encapsulation & Black Wood Museum-Back

Graduate your artwork to the next level by creating striking, three-dimensional pearlescent metallic photo prints with a deeper than glass effect. The ¼” thick layer of acrylic paired with lightweight 3mm Sintra provides your images with professional protection and exceptional clarity. The museum-back will have black painted edges and is easy to hang.

 

 

customize print recipes pro artisanhdHigh-End: “The PRO”

FujiFlex, 1/8” TruLife Acrylic, White Dibond Encapsulation & Black Aluminum Museum-Back

Create pro level gallery quality artwork with our top selling HD photo paper and anti-reflective acrylic combo! Add depth, and give your photos a true to life appearance that other acrylic products simply cannot match. Protect your investment & ensure durability with our professional Dibond metal encapsulation finish. We supply this version with a black powder-coated aluminum museum-back frame and Z-clip for easy hanging.

 

Customize & Save Your Own Print Recipes

print recipes customize your own artisanhdDo you have a favorite print combo that you’re constantly reaching for?

Kodak Metallic paper mounted to 1/4″ plexiglass acrylic? FujiFlex paper and Trulife (non-glare) Acrylic? Or perhaps direct to dibond brushed metal?

Whatever it may be, now you can customize your favorite go-to’s and save them for later.

Name your and save your own recipes! (example: “John’s Favorite Combo” or “My Gallery Prints”) 

Best methods to clean a Trulife Acrylic print and/or plexiglass acrylic.2021-06-21T21:35:42-07:00

After creating your custom acrylic prints, you want to take every step you can to protect them. So what are the best methods to clean a Trulife Acrylic print and/or standard Plexiglass acrylic prints? If you’ve noticed that your artwork has been tainted with some slight smudging or dirt, start off by simply removing any surface debris.

Plastic cleaner is ideal along with a premium microfiber cloth. However, any gentle monitor or eyeglass cleaner will also work just as well. Important: Stay away from ammonia or alcohol-based cleaners, as well as paper towels – these products can scratch the surface.

Protect Your Trulife Acrylic Print & Standard Plexiglass with an Encapsulation Layer

encapsulate trulife acrylic print plexiglass acrylic

Want even more protection for your Trulife Acrylic print and/or Plexiglass Acrylic prints? Consider adding an encapsulation layer. It will offer both an additional layer of protection to your print PLUS opacity. Opacity is important when you choose a museum-back (hidden floating frame) since the back could create a darker (i.e. visible) line where the wooden frame touches the print.

Encapsulation Benefits:

  • Long-lasting durability
  • Opacity
  • Gallery-style look
  • Rigid, frameless finish

Protect your investment with the right cleaning products and an encapsulated print from ArtisanHD. Transform your artwork into long-lasting, museum-quality gallery prints.

Looking for more information? Check out the related FAQ: Do I need backing or an encapsulation layer on Trulife Acrylic?

When a print is mounted to a plexiglass design, is the museum back bonded directly to the back of the print?2021-06-21T21:39:48-07:00

Yes, when you select a plexiglass design and your print is directly mounted to the plexiglass, the museum mount is also bonded directly to the back of the print.

Acrylic Photo-mount, Plexiglass Design

Mounted Print “Floats”

You also have the option to add another before the museum mounting. This is called Acrylic Print Encapsulation. If you are interested in this specialized plexiglass design and mounting option, please contact our Artisans directly at (877) 948-0009. We will gladly create a custom design and quote for you. No matter how your artwork is mounted and displayed on your walls, the plexiglass print will make your images truly  shine and stand out!

What’s the difference between direct to print and paper mounted prints?2017-10-27T17:01:00-07:00
ArtisanHD direct to print acrylic print landscape photography

ArtisanHD direct to print acrylic

We offer two types of plexiglass or acrylic prints: direct to print and paper mounted.

Direct to Print

Our most popular plexi print is direct to plexi, or direct to acrylic. For this print type, we print your photo directly to the back of 1/4″ plexiglass, without paper. This option includes a 2″ border and stainless steel standoffs.

Paper Mounted

We also offer a plexiglass print solution where you first choose your high definition photo paper, then we mount the paper to the back of the a 1/4″ piece of Plexi. This option is called paper mounted and covers 100% of the plexi. It is mounted with a museum back.

For more information, visit our Product Page.

How can I ensure long-lasting hd photo prints?2017-10-27T16:25:09-07:00

To help your hd photo prints last as long as possible, follow a few simple tips. Keep your digital prints away from any environment that has excessive moisture or heat. Protect your hd photo printsTo prevent fading, do not place your photos in direct sunlight. You might even want to move your photos from place to place within a room or house to ensure that no one print receives too much sunlight. You can dust your hd photo prints with a feather duster or a lint-free damp cloth. Because acrylic glass surfaces can be easily scratched, take care to be very gentle when you clean them.

How do you mount photos on plexiglass or acrylic?2017-10-27T16:28:04-07:00

Mounting photos on plexiglass / acrylic is an art form in itself. We use face mounting – a labor-intensive method that requires an experienced professional to do it perfectly. This method is often used in art galleries and museums around the world.

What is “plexi”?2017-10-27T16:29:25-07:00

Plexi is a type of transparent acrylic. It is often used in place of glass. We use plexi /acrylic because of the superior results it gives when we print to this medium.

What is commonly known as “Plexiglass”, is really a brand of acrylic and today it is sold under many different names, including Acrylite, Lucite and Perspex. Because of our high standards, we insist on using only the best plexi products available.

We encourage you to try it as it’s a wonderful alternative to printing on canvas. Want to know more about why to choose plexiglass aka acrylic; check out this blog post:  What is the difference between a photo print mounted to acrylic vs. a direct digital print on acrylic?

ArtisanHD plexi or direct to acrylic print landscape photography

Is special hardware required to hang my acrylic print?2020-10-06T08:05:12-07:00

Yes, the art mounting hardware you selected during your configuration process will be shipped with your print, ready to hang. You just need to pick out a wonderful display wall and grab a screwdriver or drill. Wondering which mount is right for your print? Check out this related FAQ and our guide.

How to Hang Your Print with the Provided Art Mounting Hardware – 1″ Stainless Steel Standoffs

Our ArtisanHD print expert artisans take great care with your artwork and we want your standoff mounts to look stunning and professional on your walls. You’ll learn everything you need to know about hanging standoff prints with this helpful step by step, easy to follow video with key visuals to guide you along the way.

Follow along as our ArtisanHD print experts provide easy instructions and tips for how to hang your professional standoff prints in the video below – we’ve even included a few extra pro tips to make your print hanging process extra smooth! All art mounting hardware is included with your print.

How to Hang Your Museum Mounted Prints

Our expert print artisans at ArtisanHD take great care with your artwork – from helping you upload your project artwork to providing professional printing and even helping you hanging your work of art on your wall. Every step matters. Follow along as our ArtisanHD print experts walk you through these easy directions and tips for how to hang your museum mounted print.

In less than two minutes you’ll learn everything you need to know about hanging a museum mounted print, no matter the size or material! The step-by-step video guide is easy to follow with key visuals to help you along the way. We even share a few pro tips for mounting in drywall and fixing a slightly unlevel hang (it’s easier than you may think). Hanging your museum mounted print is a snap – in no time at all your custom artwork will be “floating” on your walls!

What is face mounting photos to acrylic?2017-10-27T16:45:34-07:00

Face mounting photos to acrylic, also called second surface mounting, is a superior  method for ensuring longevity and for giving a professional finished look to acrylic prints. Although it is a delicate process and requires time and a great deal of professional experience, we feel it gives the final product an almost three-dimensional, museum-quality result that is difficult to surpass. The glass also protects the photo from fading, dust and scratches.

Acrylic Face Mount Print in Dining Room - Face Mounting Photos to Acyrlic

Acrylic Face Mount Print 

With face mounting, we apply a special silicone glue archival crystal clear film adhesive to the print and then mount the front of the acrylic photo to it. The bond between the UV-resistant glass and the photo is airtight. Because of the airtight bond, there is no light reflection between the glass and the photo. It adds depth and makes the photo look like it is part of the acrylic. When paired with our Metallic or FujiFlex photo paper, face mounting photos to acrylic creates a look that has to been seen to be believed. This ensures that vivid colors achieved by the acrylic printing process are not compromised.

We then attach a wooden museum backing to the print. The backing creates a 1″ space between picture and wall, which makes it appear as if it is floating away from the wall, giving additional dimension to the photo.

Share your thoughts!

5 out of 5 stars

25 reviews

Let us know what you think...

0 reviews with a 1-star rating

There are no reviews with a 1-star rating yet

×

Login

Continue as a Guest

ArtisanHD.com Makes It Easy for You to Order Perfect Large-Format Custom Printing Online

Subscribe to our email newsletter & save $10 on your next order of $50 or more!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Why Choose ArtisanHD?

  • We treat you like a person, not a number. With our dedicated staff of craftspeople, your order receives the personalized attention it deserves.
  • Our customers like us! You don’t have to take our word for it - just read some of our customer reviews.
  • Our top-of-the-line photographic and printing equipment offer both the professional and recreational artist the very best tools, materials & craftsmanship to produce stunning museum-quality masterpieces.
  • Our custom configurator offers unique cropping and scaling functionality along with a print preview so you can see exactly how your artwork will look printed.
  • Work with an award winning team! We are proud recipients of two American Marketing Association Awards. Read More »

ArtisanHD Customer Reviews

As the owner of a small startup company, I looked around The Valley and online for professional high quality printed products. Other solutions always seemed to come with a tradeoff: poor customer service, product size constraints, high pricing and volume, or even bad finish quality. Working with Mike and his team I was able to produce the high quality unique products at competitive prices that I was looking for without compromise. Their knowledgeable customer service was phenomenal! We were even able to find solutions to some of the more complex printing and finishing requirements I needed. I’ll definitely be working with them again on future projects!
I recently sold one of my Digital Art pieces and the team at ArtisanHD have the complete package really sorted out! They are a friendly, client orientated and totally professional team who happen to produce spectacular prints as well! Thanks guys for keeping everyone very happy!
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Dale B.Dale B.
Fantastic staff, fantastic facilities, second to none product quality output. I feel like you're my secret weapon.
Beautiful print work and customer service of the highest order – you'll be so thrilled with how well you're treated, and how they'll go the extra mile to make sure you're happy and satisfied with the final result.
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Denise S.Denise S.
It's rare I find a company today where the customer service, quality and pricing meet most every need I'm looking for. It's even rarer to find those companies where the staff are not only willing to meet those expectations, but surpass them. In a very stressful situation I created for myself, the staff at Artisan went out of their way to help me find a answer to my predicament. Their team worked with me to find a fast solution pulling me out of a situation I knew very few companies would go out of their way to solve. It's those actions I use to choose who I will send my next job. The service was awesome! The quality was awesome! Their staff was Awesome!
Raegan S.
Artisan Colour is the most creative, talented and friendly place to print and mind meld.  I have been satisfied with every experience I have had with them.  Front end to delivery topnotch.  So glad I was directed to them.
Adrienne M.
Simply the best. Great client services, great people, and great products.
ArtisanHD Online Photo Printing Review – Dan M.Dan M.
When I inadvertently shipped a limited edition print to a customer before signing it, Artisan was quick to have it rerouted back to their facility to resolve my issue. When I then showed up during the holiday season –– right before New Year's Eve –– I was met by no less than the company's president, Doug Bondon, who was genuinely happy to assist me and get my order on its way in a matter of minutes. Folks, this is what topnotch, white glove service really looks like. Outstanding!
Michael M., Your Content Goes Here

Go to Top